We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Going to the Keys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gateway To The Keys
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect for Going to the Keys”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Selected this hotel as last stop on our way to Key West. Trailered our motorcycle then left our vehicle/trailer parked for one day/night while we rode the bike to Key West. Hotel was very accommodating - said they would keep an eye on our vehicle. In a quiet neighborhood - can't imagine any room being noisy. Room was clean AND linens were inviting - had the new, crisp feel to them. Slept soo good!

Room Tip: Very quiet neighborhood - don't think you would find any room unpleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mare4422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    615
    211
    38
    33
See reviews for
555
651
55
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is not a new hotel but it has recenly been renovated and to a very good standard. The rooms facing the pool are excellent and you need not worry about nosie as it's so spacious.

I cannot understand a previous reviewer's comment about breakfast. Its self service and there are plenty of rubbish bins so guests are supposed to throw away their own trash thus leaving the space free for the next guest. Compared to many 'complimentary breakfast' set ups this was by far the best we experienced in a month in Florida. Eggs, Bacon, Toast, Bagels, Pastries, Fruit, Yoghurts - what more do you need? The lady in charge of the breakfast area deserves a special mention - she was continually checking levels, renewing foods and basically making sure everything was as it should be - well done!

If you need a convenient value for money stop-over then this is the place. Plenty of well known restaurants nearby such as Cracker Barrell

The only constructive criticisim is that some outside lighting by the seating areas would be helpful for those who like to read outdoors around the pool after returning from dinner - currently impossble unless you have a torch!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
475 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I selected this hotel for its proximity to the Everglades
National Park. Driving 90 minutes from FLL airport, was greeted by friendly staff and assigned he quiet king room I had asked for. spacious, bright and well furnished room. The hotel is a bit removed from the thoroughfare, reducing traffic noise. Restaurants, fast food, gas and beer/wine/liqour stores in walking distance. The TV is fixed to the wall, disallowing any desired swiveling. No movie channels in the selection, A/C is relativeley quiet, shower is hot with good water pressure, microwave and fridge (freezer compartment does not freeze) in the room. Breakfast slighly bette rtha nthe usual styrofoam fest found in most motels. Reconstituted eggs and bacon, cerela, yoghurt, good danish and bagels. I recommend this place - good value.

Room Tip: The hotel is U-shaped, pool/interior rooms should be quiet(er).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Easy access from Route 997 and well landscaped from the outside. We were on our motorcycles headed to Key West. The desk clerk was very accommodating and friendly. Our room was furnished in ‘key west’ style furnishings. The room was updated, modern,and very clean. We felt comfortable walking on the carpet in our bare feet. We had a king bed which was very comfortable. The pillows were small but we chose not to call housekeeping to change them out. We slept very well all night.

We enjoyed the buffet style breakfast in their ‘café’ room. The pool area looked very nice, but we did not have time to do any swimming. There was a “Captain’s Restaurant and Seafood” place next door which was ‘average’ in food quality and cost. We had fried fish and rice. There was a liquor store and a gas station within walking distance. A McDonalds is located across the street from the hotel.

To our pleasant surprise, we woke up the next morning and found a clean towel on the seat of our bikes! This allowed us to wipe off the dew and moisture off our bikes! It’s nice to know the staff cares about our comfort and the condition of our bikes.

During checkout, Francesse signed us up for Best Western rewards and even sent a follow up note with further instructions. We would definitely stay here again! Best Western took great care of us during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor which allowed us to park our motorcycles in front of our window and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel before traveling to the Keys. Pleasantly surprised!!!! Quiet, beautiful pool area, nice clean room with detail to cleanliness and great hot breakfast. Also washed clothes and they provided detergent at a reasonable cost. I checked out early and was halfway to Key Largo and realized I forgot my Nook. Went back to the hotel and the maid had reported it to management. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbgibbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very comfortable bed, quiet large room, expected amenities and more; overall an attractive, very clean and well-kept motel. Staff is friendly and helpful and there is ample onsite parking, including handicap. The only downside is the included breakfast, which is of mediocre quality and selection at best, and the small number of tables aren't promptly cleared and cleaned. Parenthetically, we have yet to find a really good place for dinner in Florida City, although there are a couple of OK restaurants nearby. We treat ourselves to really good seafood in the Keys or Miami.

Florida City is about as close as you can get to the Everglades National Park entrance, and is the jumping off point for the Florida Keys.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the central pool and garden. It's more attractive than facing the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb_mccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Headed to the lower Keys. Decided to take a day in Key Largo and Pennacamp Reef. After reading many bad reviews and high prices we choose Florida city, with some concern. The Best Western was clean, dependable and affordable. I was traveling with young children and a car full of baggage. I had No worries and the continental breakfast was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
953 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
2.7 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 14 in Homestead
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway To The Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway To The Keys

Property: Best Western Gateway To The Keys
Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-4913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#5 Family Hotel in Florida City
#6 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gateway To The Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway To The Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing