We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What You Get For About $45.00 in South Florida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Florida City
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
La Place
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What You Get For About $45.00 in South Florida”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I liked the rate ($42.00/night), the convenient location, the good, strong coffee, the in-room microwave oven & fridge, the good air conditioner, the overall quiet of the place, and the mostly nice-looking exterior appearance. I did NOT like the shabby condition of the room or lobby. I probably would not stay here again or recommend it to others. But, for the price, a traveler might not mind it. Oh, the place was packed with people both nights, so obviously many people are fine with it.

RJT

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJayT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    17
    15
    71
See reviews for
21
46
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Expensive for such a crap place!!!
Stayed here for 1 night in March as the Fairway Inn that we had stayed in before was full!! We could be bothered to keep looking so stayed here as we had been traveling all day!
On the plus side, the pool is ok, clean & useable. Met a nice guy who lived there & he was friendly!
The room was a dump. It stank like an old smokers room. Curtails falling down, smoke detectors taken down, badly in need of decoration, bathroom window didnt shut, tv out of the 80's! bathroom needed attention. Generally needed updating, cleaning & fumigating!!
Drinks machine took our money but didnt give us our drinks!!!
Slow service at reception, breakfast was coffee, toast & OJ. Not the best!!!
Oh & im not sure why there was a trailer tent in the car park that we saw two young lads in & a vacuum cleaner on the grass.
The whole hotel looked like there had been a massive party there the night before we arrived!!!
Wouldnt stay here again!!!!

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good, Stay somewhere else!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Bed Bugs is all you should need to hear. I have bites ALL over my body! Thankfully it was the last 2 nights of our trip so they are affecting me more now that I am home. There were also bugs in the bathroom. Very rundown and in need of repairs. For being one of the lowest priced hotels around, it was definitely too expensive for what we paid. The only plus was that the bed was comfortable minus the bugs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Spent 2 nights as a base for seeing Everglades & driving down to Key West. We used Roomsaver coupon & unfortunately the Comfort Inn and Travelodge were sold out for rooms with the coupon. So, we chose what seemed to be the lesser of 2 evils, as Super 8 seemed to be in a worse section of Krome Avenue. The women at the Front Desk were rude our entire stay, our room air conditioner was so loud, it sounded like an lawn mower engine the entire time. Room was old, had to ask disgruntled front desk person for a TV channel listing, which she said should have been laminated and placed inside the rooms, but weren't. When I asked in the afternoon if there was hot water (to use my own teabag, by the way), she instructed me to microwave water in a cup (although they only provided styrofoam that cannot be microwaved!). The motel surrounded by barb wire fences, had to drive a fair distance to the Publix food market, which was also in a bad neighborhood. The local tourist information office, right across from Reception, had cautioned that budget motels were hard to find down in the Keys, but we found several of them off the main drag that had vacancy signs out. Online later that night, I found a few that were under $100. I say go for spending the extra money to be on the Keys, as Homestead seemed even more scary and desolate, than Florida City.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

It's worth the $20 or so extra dollars to stay elsewhere. We booked for one night on our way to Key West, not expecting anything lavish, just a place to lay our heads. What a DUMP!! The room smelled, there were cobwebs on the ceiling, there was a hole in the wall, the carpets were filthy and worst of all, BUGS all over the counter around the sink area which I didn't notice until the next morning AFTER my bag sat there all night. The air conditioning only worked for a few minutes at a time and it would cut off. As two women traveling alone, we did NOT feel safe at this location. Definitely the worst experience I have ever had while traveling. Knights Inn should be ashamed to have this place have it's name on the sign. I know it's a budget hotel but wow. Disgusting.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This hotel was run down and dirty. Mold on bathroom walls and ceilings, filthy floor. Smoke detector was broken. Torn carpet. I went to Walmart to buy a sleeping bag so I wouldn't have to touch the sheets and blanket. Continental breakfast? Muffins cut in pieces. Went out for breakfast. Couldn't wait till morning to get out of this place. I tried to submit more pictures, but had trouble doing so.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Loves2travel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This really is not a good hotel.
Our room had a fridge and microwave BUT we couldn't use the mocrowave to heat water as when we turned it on the room lights flickered and the microwave made terrible sounds and burning smells. The lights in the room flickered most of the evening or just didn't turn on at all. The shower supplied really good hot water and then really good cold water and then back to really good hot water. Shame it couldn't deliver them at the same time to create a nice temperature. The heater/air conditioner had been utterly wrecked - someone had pulled the face off the control panel and it was unsafe to use. I did report it and was met with a smile and an affirmative yes they did know about it but just press the button it will work! Just not acceptable.

They also falsely advertise having internet. They don't and I am not the only one who had this problem. We heard the gentlemen next door ring up and ask for the password and assure them that he had entered it correctly, that he had tried numerous times, that he had turned his computer off and restarted it and still couldn't get on. (Yes I could hear the entire conversation which goes to show how bad the walls were) The staff assured him and I ( I rung too) that it was working just fine. I asked another patron the next morning and he too couldn't get on and he was angry! Staff just didn't care.

The cleanliness was very suspect with the bathroom being one of the worst we have seen and we were disappointed in the breakfast room and office in the morning too. It all needs a really good clean. This place isn't just tired (which it is) but it is also unclean. We are always looking for a bargain and thought this was it but we wouldn't recommend it to anyone - pay more and get a better room elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willowray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
953 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
1.5 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 14 in Homestead
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Florida City
Days Inn Florida City
#9 of 12 in Florida City
797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway To The Keys
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Florida City

Property: Knights Inn Florida City
Address: 1223 NE 1st Ave, Florida City, FL 33034-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Florida City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Florida City Homestead South Hotel Florida City
Florida City Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing