We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been traveling from Tampa to Key West and this was my first day of a long 10 day trip that included stays in Tampa, Miami, and Orlando and was with two families other than mine. As my fellow reviewers mentioned here, it is easy to miss this place (not the Dennys restaurant though). Two things specially comes to mind about our stay. 1. The property manager was kind enough to extend our check-out time as an infant we had in our party was showing signs of fever. 2. We received a call on our way to Key West saying that my friend has missed her iPhone under the bed sheets and would be able to collect on our way back. My friends from Dubai who were traveling with us rated their stay very high. One good thing I liked was transfer of our luggage directly to the room as each room had parking space in front and the property looked like a resort. This is not your five star hotel but the service is definitely worth praising.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
And we have always said, we are not a high-end resort! But, as you have said, some of the traits of our services have been compared and contrasted with those of such hotels. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We go above and beyond -ask and we will try and comply!

Thanks for your review and for the highest possible award (5 greens out of 5) for the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City; we cannot ask for more. Look forward to your quick return.

Early check-ins are always possible, depending on circumstances. Ask as walk-ins or call ahead of time.

Please note you can book directly with us by calling/emailing at the addresses listed under the photo of the hotel above.

Sunny Patel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,001
    1,283
    296
    82
    28
See reviews for
1,152
1,727
140
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is exactly what we were looking for when we have reserved. Friendly staff. When leaving the parking you are next to the Keys avoiding any city related traffic. Plenty of gas stations around. Though we didn't visit the Everglades this time the Travelodge has an excelent location for that too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantiagoSgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
And parking right in front of the rooms is also viewed by some as a positive. We are glad we lived up to your expectations. Thank you for posting such a kind review of your stay at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City.

Note, we will TRY our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.

Potential guests can now book/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The white powder under the bed is for bugs. Located behind a gas station. First room old with stain linens. Second room filthy Capet. Some rooms may be nice, but the two that we were given were crappy. Before you check in you better go check out the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmanCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We believe responding to reviews shows that we are listening and we actually care; it's a way to reinforce the positive and change perceptions when negative; we have 88 rooms and 88 inspectors, every day. Negative feedback (which we do not always get) from each is very important to us.

As for dirty carpets, we have a professional company (Stanely Steamer) who cleans the carpets on a regualr/conitnuous basis we have laready converted about 20 rooms to wood floors and wish to assure you that we are working on converting more rooms to wood floor.

We have no excuse for the stained linens. We have informed our housekeeping and laundry department to be more careful.

We hope you will give us another chance to serve you better next time.

Please note that you can always check in early with us. Call us or walk-in and ask.

Potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.


Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

First the downside: it’s easy to drive past the entrance to this place, yes there is a great big sign on top of a tall pole, and another at ground level, but when you turn off the South Dixie Highway it’s like turning into the Mobil gas station. That said, that’s about the only down side.

Next the upside: this Travelodge is very good value for money.

Plus:

It’s ideally suited for visiting the Everglades National Park and John Pennekamp State Park. It's much closer to Homestead than it is to Florida City.

I booked a room via email, and the manager, Sunny Patel, could not have been more helpful. He reserved us a newly refurbished non-smoking, pet free room, with laminated flooring and king bed.

The rooms are basic but very clean. There are plenty of wardrobes and cabinets, a good TV, radio, phone, fridge, microwave and safe. The shower room was very good and clean. The bed was clean and comfy, with good bedding. There is a good stout secure door, and you park motel style right outside your room.

The included breakfast buffet gives a good start to the day. It’s self-service with a good variety of take as much as you want pancakes, toast, eggs, sausage patties, cereals, coffee, juices, and fresh fruit etc. You heat food in a microwave as you need it. About 90 seconds on full power heats the sausage nicely.

We didn’t use the pool, but several visitors did and seemed to enjoy it.

The wi-fi didn’t work for me, and late at night the reception supplied a cable to connect to the internet in the room. A couple of days later I found it was a problem with my laptop, but it was a useful to get connected at the time.

There are several places to eat nearby, we found Ruby Tuesday about three miles north to be good. Not far away is the excellent Robert is Here for fresh fruit, vegetables and snacks.

It’s just a shame I couldn’t take proper fish and chips and a Liverpool shirt back for Sunny.

Room Tip: If you have special needs, contact the manager and he will make sure you get the right room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RovingCivilEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking such a long time out of your busy schedule to post such a detailed review of your stay at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. Welcome to the family. We hope you come back and stay with us again and again.

Always ask and we will try and comply: our latest offer is you can check in earlier than 12 noon; call or ask as walk-ins.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.6 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#3 of 14 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades

Property: Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades
Address: 409 SE 1st Ave # 1, Florida City, FL 33034-5009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#1 Family Hotel in Florida City
#1 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Florida City-Homestead offers relaxing family holidays, superb getaways, and a quiet refuge for business trips. Whatever your needs, our hotel staff will do their best to make sure your stay with us is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida City Travelodge Hotel Florida City
Travelodge Florida City
Travel Lodge Florida City
Florida City Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing