We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast and Fantastic!”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Florida City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Napoleon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fast and Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Went for breakfast the morning after a storm, there were many people in Florida Ciy without power so the place was packed. Stated the wait would be 20-3- minutes but we were seated within 5-10 minutes. Friendly waitress, and staff!! Will visit again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    165
    72
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great !!!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Food is always good, Love the gift shop, all Christmas stuff was on sale, found the candles I was looking for at 75% off.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank andyjo913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn/gulf
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“low carb menu too”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

great gift shop, OK eats, common southern foods, needs more salad and seafood. Waitress and staff very nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank emilybement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cheap Food Fast - Better Options than Fast Food”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Cracker Barrel restaurants are designed like a well done theme park ride. You start and end in a store that's full of "kitschy" items, silly toys and a wide selection of sweets and treats. People often end up buying extras before or after the meal. It's clever and a fun little diversion.

But I really want to talk about the restaurant. The decor is adequate. It's obviously a large chain with little concern for local personalization. Old fashioned things are attached to the walls and it's cute, but not particularly original.

They put a little board game on each table to occupy your time before the food arrives. (My biggest concern is how many people touch those games before they eat their meals? Are they ever cleaned? When I asked my last waitress she said, "No, we only clean them if something is spilled on them. Gross!)

The temperature is always a bit too cool. It's comfortable for the waitstaff, but if you're a guest bring something more than just a t-shirt. I've been over a dozen times and people from 8 to 80 have complained it's too cold. You've been warned.

The food selection is significant and orders are delivered extremely fast. Prices are cheap. But don't be looking for "home cooking" like the name and atmosphere lead you to believe. Pancakes come from giant mixes, vegetables tend to be mushy and from cans, most foods are covered in large amounts of butter, infused with salt and topped with sugar. This is NOT home cooking made from scratch.

It all tastes reasonable, but if you want to be healthy you have to order carefully. Egg whites, whole wheat breads, steamed vegetables and lean meats like chicken and turkey are available. Just make sure to ask WITHOUT BUTTER and WITHOUT TOPPINGS that smother things in fat and sugar.

Overall the staff is very nice, food delivery is quick and prices are cheap. Because I can be very specific on my orders I keep returning. There are more healthy options than fast food restaurants and I can relax before driving home to Key West.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeyWestLocalCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chain food”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Chain food , no different than the 5000 other ones :)

Helpful?
Thank daler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing