We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of What's Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Florida City
Reviewed March 11, 2007

I viewed the other reviews here before writing mine and there definitely is some merit to the comments about the somewhat lazy looking construction job, but we didn't seem to encounter as many problems, so maybe they've gone back and fixed it. Also, the elevator was fine on our trip, and the hotel was almost fully booked.

I found the staff to be average and the facilities to be very typical of a Holiday Inn. I'd say that the best part was the level of cleanliness, which was great.

Didn't venture in to any of the other surrounding hotels but they didn't look spectacular from the street... this was a great value and very convenient. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank chelle2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 435 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2006

Doing any renovations or remodeling of your home? Go to this hotel to see what NOT to do. I thought that there were some minimum standards for Holiday Inn. I was wrong. The quality of the finish construction, particularly the sheetrock and texturing was quite unbelievable. We saw some things that will result in leaks, cracks, and probably molds and dry rot in the near future on a place that was completed in Nov05. Look around the showers, look at the lobby/dining area ceiling. Hallways narrow, cracked elevator tiles, missing molding around elevators, exterior doors hitting recessed framing, etc. Nothing by itself too bad but combined, wow.

Conversely, the staff was excellent, somewhat offsetting the physical issues. Why go there? Location, location, location.

Hey Holiday Inn, why don't you go inspect what has your name on it?

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank National_Park_Lover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2006

Stayed two nights here, on the basis of this being the best of an apparent bad lot in Florida City. Although new, it is already showing signs of becoming tawdry. Paint is peeling, there are signs of damp. The bottom of our bathroom door was unpainted. Lots of plaster patches....a real bodge construction job.

The staff are polite but very cold and unhelpful. Our sofa bed was unmade, and apparently no-one was able to come and do this....we had to collect stuff from the front desk and do it ourselves. And despite the considerable number of bedrooms, it was apparently impossible to find even one spare pillow to supplement the one per head allowed. Our "suite" did not have separation between the lounge and the bedroom, and there was only one TV, completely unviewable from the sitting area. The bathroom was tiny. Overall the furniture and general ambience is cheap and nasty......truly uncomfortable beds and tables with loose legs.

Oh, and it has a Holiday Inns stock in trade extremely slow elevator. Plan on using the stairs in a busy period.

New, but over priced and unwelcoming. A slum of the future.

The Best Western up the road a few hundred yards looks MUCH nicer.........

And this for $150 and up a night. Stay away...

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandelbrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2006

My husband and I stayed here one night knowing it was a new Holiday Inn, we thought it would be really nice. Tile was peeling off in the bathroom, roof had been leaking, and just overall in awful shape for a new Holiday Inn. Talked to people in the elevator who were amazed at the problems they had. When we went to a local restaurant for dinner, met some businessmen who were complaining about their room. Upon checkout my husband spoke with the Manager and told him that usually he would be there on business and asked about some of the problems. The Manager said, "Oh, we are having a lot of problems with the construction company!" And we paid $115 a night. He never even apologized!

Stayed: February 2006
7  Thank travelbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

This motel opened 2 months ago - (nov?). We went to look at it, as most of the motels in the homestead-florida city area are pretty bad.

It looks like the typical holiday inn express. pool, breakfast included. free computers for you to use. rooms are accessed from inside the building.

since new should be clean and not musty, etc. etc.

17  Thank Joanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 三丁目 本
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway To The Keys
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City
Quality Inn Florida City
#2 of 13 in Florida City
873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,588 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,608 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034-5604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range: $120 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing