We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I chose this hotel because it was close to the kart racing track. It is on route 1, toward Key West, at the south end of Florida City.
We were on the first floor in a large quiet room with two queen beds. Newer bathroom with granite vanity top and tiles. Standard towels and toiletries. The room had musty smell, so they turned on the air-condition every day to 66F to remove it. We had to turn the heater on for the night.
The beds were a bit old and lumpy, so they placed feather bed on top of it, that actually helped. To protect the feather bed, they covered it with a noisy waterproof plastic-like cover (like the one we put on a crib under babies) that was hot and uncomfortable.
The room otherwise was clean, had a refrigerator, large flat tv, etc.
The hot breakfast was included. The lady who took care of the breakfast area, was very nice, kind and kept the area well supplied and very clean.
The reception area looked pleasant, check in was fast.
The carpet in the hallway was old and worn.
They have a large pool, but no jacuzzi. Since it was winter and relatively cold, we didn't use it. Jacuzzi would have been nice.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    128
    85
    26
    27
See reviews for
107
143
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N.E.Ware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We found this location to be fine. We were walk-ins fresh off the highway. Price was ok for the Keys and not unexpected. Non-smoking, smelled great. Room was remodeled tastefully, bedding was up dated with duvet, bathroom even had bath and body works accessories. Just fine for an overnight stay. Air was cold, fridge was fine. The staff was super friendly. Would I make this my main vacation hotel? probably not...for a stay over it's perfect. People need to lighten up. To judge hotel by the color of the room doors is just wrong. Safe, clean and up to date. I didn't feel skeeved.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klmc4cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear N.E. Ware,

Thank you for your review. I am very proud of my staff here at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florida City. We have recently added a couple new team members, and we do our best to live up to IHG's motto "Great Hotels Guests Love!"

We are looking forward to you staying with us again in the future at The Gateway To The Keys.

Brad Forsyth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with family for one night and that was enough, we came back to our room and the door was wide open luckily enough nothing was stolen, noisiest fridge, sofa bed uncomfey we had to put mattress on floor, rooms dated, dirty carpet and music was playing until 6AM in the morning and could hear every word of the songs!! Wouldn't recommend staying here!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Tilly C.,

Again I would like to apologize for the cover music in the lobby disturbing you. I want to thank you for bringing this to my attention during our conversation during breakfast, we have subsequently lowered the volume level. Pursuant to our conversation I have gone ahead and issued you the Rewards Club bonus points.

I was unaware of your other concerns with your stay as the cover music volume was the only issue you brought to my attention. All of our rooms have recently had new furniture and carpeting installed, but the hallway carpeting has yet to be replaced.

Please return to our hotel when you are back in tropical South Florida and ask to speak directly with me and I will do everything I can to ensure you have a much more enjoyable time. We do our best to live up to our slogan of "Gateway to the Keys!"

Most Sincerely,
Brad Forsyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florida City hotels

Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Review: Not terrible, Not real good, just OK. We have stayed at other Holiday Inn Express hotels that were more impressive.This hotel is located strategically to the gateway of the Florida Keys, airboat rides and the Everglades National Park which is why we chose it. The property is a little tired with worn carpeting in the corridors and cheesy bright red painted room doors, (who was the decorator that selected those colors??). The room showed no signs of bedbugs, (we always check as these insects do not discriminate), but had a faint odor of air freshener or some other cover-up aroma, that we got accustomed to in less than 90 seconds, (not mildew or anything like that, just a little funky). The bedding was clean while the beds themselves were not totally comfortable that featured a feather bed topper on the mattresses instead of a real pillow top mattress of higher quality like we have often experienced in other similarly priced establishments. The walls are not soundproof as we were able to hear our adjacent neighbors when speaking in anything other than a lowered voice. The room carpet was tired however the bathroom was clean.

Complaints: The desk clerk on duty could polish her communication skills and respond verbally to questions with words instead of a scowl and a head shake. We would have preferred the answer to the question, "does the hotel have a guest laundry facility?" to be "no I am sorry" rather than, a frown and a wordless side to side nod. Later in the same evening we found the front desk to be unattended for over 10 minutes, when we had another question about printing a document from the guest computer center. We were also disappointed that although our reservation was made for 2 adults and 2 teenage children there was not additional chairs furnished in the room besides the desk chair, (are we supposed to be confined to our double queen beds while occupying our room?) The ice maker on the second floor was out of order, and the internet service disconnects from your computer or device every few minutes. One of the reasons that we selected this hotel was due to the free breakfast offer which was appealing so that we could start our day of sightseeing without delay. To our disappointment we found that the main entree selection, (the eggs) were consumed at 8:30 am and not replaced within 10 minutes with a room full of hungry guests waiting patiently. As we had to catch an airboat ride we had a bagel and yogurt and left for our tour of the everglades with stomachs consequently growling by 10:30 am.

Conclusion: Look... we understand that this is not a high end hotel, but we did not pay economy hotel franchise fares either. As we stated in the beginning: it's OK, it just isn't great, don't stay away, this place will get the job done, but you won't be doing cartwheels about your experience either.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Stephen P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value your input and comments. First and foremost, I apologize that your stay with us was not exceptional, as we strive to make every guests stay a positive memorable experience. Unfortunately, your experience was far from exceptional. I will use your feedback to improve our service as we continue to strive for excellence.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the HI Express in Florida City. I normally do not write negative reviews, but this experience was one of the worst IHG experiences I have encountered. The staff were less than helpful, rude and upset interrupted their texting. The bathroom had mold and was not clean. The entry way was dirty as was most of the facility.

We had to request extra pillows and blanket 3 times. The internet key changed during the middle of the night. What a hassle to obtain a new one. As a platinum member, I have come to expect a better class of service from IHG hotels. I would not recommend this property.......

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear T O,

Thanks for your review. As a Platinum IHG Rewards Member, your input is extremely valuable to the development of our property. I apologize that you had such an unpleasant stay. However, your review has been noted and we have made some necessary changes that I believe you would appreciate. I hope we have another opportunity to accommodate you in the near future. As you loyalty is appreciated.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Good :
Location and closeness to the Everglades and the Florida Keys, Amazing Warm Weather,
Outdoor Pool Area, Friendly and Helpful Day Staff (Isabella knows a lot), satisfying breakfast in the morning, Clean sheets and pillows, clean guestrooms, close to Liquor store (walking distance), business center, flat-screen televisions with plenty channels, in lobby coupons and brochures to the most popular of water sports and attractions refrigerator and microwave, large fitness center, vending machines, and plenty of free parking.

The Bad: Entered room without seeing the Do Not Disturb Sign and emptied the trash but did not bother to do anything else since they were already there ? Business Center printing facilities did not work, Rude breakfast attendant,

Room Tip: Prefer the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
520 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Even though it's not the fanciest HI Express, our room was comfortable. It's about 20 minutes away from the Everglades and Biscayne National Parks. It's also about 30 minutes away from Key Largo. The breakfast is very popular and the staff did a great job of keeping up with some many visitors. I'm glad we stayed here and would consider it again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Florida City
Ramada Florida City
#9 of 12 in Florida City
3.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
2.9 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#3 of 17 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034-5604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing