We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn Florida City(Florida City)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Gateway To The Keys(Florida City)(Great Value!)
$97
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$114
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Inn Florida City(Florida City)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$63
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Roc Motel(Florida City)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Budget Host Inn(Florida City)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
113
152
108
36
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
152
108
36
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskey westroom was cleanfree breakfastnight's sleeptwo queen bedsfront desk staffmusty smellmiami airportthe breakfast areaeverglades national parklocation was perfectwould stay againeasy accesseggssausagenice poolkeys
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 441 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent two nights here while on a road trip and left out here for the Keys, the place was very clean and quiet, the staff was very helpful, breakfast was he usual HI express but everything was fresh and and replenished, the morning staff was also very helpful . The place is a little funny about getting in and out the way the hwy is in front, but that isn't the hotel's fault, secure parking as they close the back gate at night, everything went very well and we were pleased, would stop in here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is a perfect spot as a stop over before driving to the Keys. I've read some of the complaints - we didn't experience a mosquito problem. We enjoyed the breakfast. Based on our experience, when breakfast is included, it never amounts to more than coffee & a few muffins. Their breakfast includes, fresh juices, eggs, bacon, pancakes, & fruit. Starbucks is on the corner. There is also an outlet mall close by.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank KKCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you value your bodily fluids, you will stay away from this place. As soon as we stepped out of the car we were instantly swarmed by vicious mutant mosquitoes. We ran for the front door of the hotel, but they chased and bit us all the way. The lobby was infested with them and everyone waiting to check into their rooms was getting chewed to pieces. Finally after getting bitten fifty times and watching us flailing about in the lobby, the guy at the front desk asked if we could use some bug spray. Unfortunately we couldn't find another room anywhere else, so we were stuck! Running back and forth to the car for our dear lives the whole time. The rooms were crackheadedish, with nasty little gas station type bathrooms. Other than that, the place was wonderful. Pffffft!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardcuban07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear hardcuban07,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate elements of nature from the surroundings of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The room smelled of disinfectant and possibly pesticide so much, it was difficult to sleep. The carpet was so dirty we would not walk on it barefoot. There are better hotels just up the street. the room layout was fine and the bathroom was fine, if small. We stayed there for a change from the Best Western, but we're going back to the Best Western and won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hello Lorna V,

It is unfortunate that you had the experience that you did. The staff and I strive for excellence daily. I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay. We have installed brand new carpet in all of the rooms and pride ourselves in cleanliness. I'm not sure which room you stayed in, but I would welcome an opportunity to speak with you directly. We regret that you're unhappy about your experience and would like to ensure that it doesn't happen again. I hope to have another opportunity to accommodate you and your guests in the future. If you would, please give me a call so we can discuss your stay in more details.

Sincerely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Like many others, we picked this hotel because of it being located close to the Everglades entrance and the Keys. It is a typical HIE, although it should be in line for their upgrade efforts, as it is showing its age. The room and bed were comfortable, and the breakfast as expected at a HIE. Staff were very friendly.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Birdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hello Birdguy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience. I'm glad to hear that you found our beds to be comfortable and we were consistent in delivering the Holiday Inn Express breakfast. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews