We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The room smelled of disinfectant and possibly pesticide so much, it was difficult to sleep. The carpet was so dirty we would not walk on it barefoot. There are better hotels just up the street. the room layout was fine and the bathroom was fine, if small. We stayed there for a change from the Best Western, but we're going back to the Best Western and won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hello Lorna V,

It is unfortunate that you had the experience that you did. The staff and I strive for excellence daily. I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay. We have installed brand new carpet in all of the rooms and pride ourselves in cleanliness. I'm not sure which room you stayed in, but I would welcome an opportunity to speak with you directly. We regret that you're unhappy about your experience and would like to ensure that it doesn't happen again. I hope to have another opportunity to accommodate you and your guests in the future. If you would, please give me a call so we can discuss your stay in more details.

Sincerely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 418 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Like many others, we picked this hotel because of it being located close to the Everglades entrance and the Keys. It is a typical HIE, although it should be in line for their upgrade efforts, as it is showing its age. The room and bed were comfortable, and the breakfast as expected at a HIE. Staff were very friendly.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Birdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hello Birdguy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience. I'm glad to hear that you found our beds to be comfortable and we were consistent in delivering the Holiday Inn Express breakfast. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a reasonable time in this old Holiday Inn Express. They have no in-house laundry, no bacon and no History Channel. Nancy, at the front desk was most pleasant and helpful. And then we got ready to leave. The employee, who works in the kitchen decided to park in the striped area next to us that my husband needed to access his van by the ramp. Next to him was another employee who was putting together furniture;he also parked in a handicapped spot although the parking lot was nearly empty. We informed Sarah,at the front desk, who knew full well who was parked there. Had we left immediately, she would have done nothing. Finally kitchen man moved his car, when he was done working. Furniture man refused and took about 15 minutes to move and only because we waited for him to move. It's the principle of the thing. Two able-bodied employees, who were caught in violation of the posted statute, just didn't care and Sarah covered for them. Shame on all of them, as if they care. And shame on management for fostering that kind of attitude.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ScrappyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hello ScrappyTexan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad to hear that Nancy was able to take care of you. As for the issue with parking, I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you and your husband. Having the employees park in the handicap parking is not something that management condones. Trust me; we have made the necessary actions to ensure that our valued guests, such as you, not have this experience again. I hope that we have another opportunity to accommodate you and your husband in the future. If so, you will have the opportunity to have a hassle free experience, which we strive for daily.

Sincerely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very clean and efficient hotel only ~25 minutes from diving at Key Largo. Pleasant check-in and clean room for less than 1/2 of what rooms cost over the bridge. Lots of restaurants nearby so plenty of options for all meals.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is ok as stopover between Miami, the Keys and the Everglades. It is a typical Holiday Inn Express so you know what you can expect: a clean room and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was included but didn't wow me, choice is rather limited. The breakfast room was however clean and big enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hello Ben_1986,

Thank you for your time posting your review of the hotel. We're glad to see that we delivered on our promises to you and you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to have another opportunity to accommodate you in the near future.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

visiting the Everglades Nat.Park early in the morning we stayed one night at this HI.
Friendly staff and quick check in/ou and large room. Unfortunately badly lighted and some smell of humidity, otherwise room was clean. ok for a stop as Everglades Nt.Park is just a short hour's drive from this place

Room Tip: choose 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello ebdan,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We're glad that we were in a convenient location for you to go over to the Everglades National Park and enjoy your time there. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations of the hotel. Being in Florida causes us to have some humidity in the rooms, thus causing an inconvenience to you. I hope we have another opportunity to accommodate you in the near future.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having stayed at a lot of hotels, I found the staff were so helpful and capable, I am compelled to write a review.

The room was fine, average. The room and the hotel was clean. A complementary breakfast was served in the morning and that was good. Not great and not the stale crusty stuff at other places.

And their rate was competitive. I will look at holiday inn express a little more closely when selecting a hotel in another city, I will stay at holiday inn express when visiting Florida City.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sailorgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway To The Keys
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City
Quality Inn Florida City
#2 of 12 in Florida City
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
980 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
3.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034-5604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range: $130 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing