We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Handy location; OK hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Elizabeth, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Handy location; OK hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

After looking at reviews between Homestead and Florida City hotels - to find something close to Everglade entrance - this seemed to be the best choice for the prices quoted, plus I had points to get one of two nights free. King bed room was huge and reasonably clean, and sheets were soft and comfy. Towels were a little ragged but large and thick enough. Sink didn't drain very well, but maintenance took care of it while we were out for the day. Breakfast was handled by two people who were very pleasant, friendly, and efficient, keeping things refilled, fresh, and cleaning tables quickly. I even complimented the woman for the great job she was doing, keeping up with the guests....much better than 4 women did at our previous hotel in Naples! a few restaurants were close by, though we found a much better selection of chain restaurants only 3 to 4 miles away that we felt more comfortable at and in what seemed to be in a safer area. The hotel's proximity to the Everglades was perfect.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tootles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    128
    83
    26
    26
See reviews for
106
142
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

In researching the available hotels in the area for my stay, this hotel, including its rates, beat out the competition. Once at the location, and driving around the area, very pleased with my selection. Felt very safe and room was clean and orderly. Breakfast in the morning was pleasing. Hotel staff were very accommodating and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACS33607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Checkin was a breeze, front desk was polite and nice very informing. Room was okay seemed a little dated, breakfast was a dissapointment crowded and wasnt much to offer everytime they would refill the items they would run out in a few min. need to get bigger dispensers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Frank S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am delighted to read you found our front desk polite and nice, however, we regret your breakfast experience was less than satisfactory. We are working hard to ensure that our breakfast service meets our guest’s expectations and value your feedback.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I really cannot say anything bad about this hotel. It was very decent stay, one night, on the way to Key West, FL (it's about 3hr from this hotel). Clean room, restaurant on premises. We do not use any amenities (no time).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Daniel S,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We 're glad that you had a great stay with us and hope that you would select the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florida City as your hotel of choice when traveling to the Florida Keys!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is not up to the usual standard we associate with HI Express hotels and it is need of some refurbishment. It has a nice pool, but sadly the water appeared to be slightly dirty that made a swim unpleasant. The breakfast is good, although the breakfast assistant was overpowering and possibly seeking tips. The suite rooms are large although appeared grubby, but this could be due to brown carpets and brown furniture. There were also a few things that needed some attention from their maintenance staff in public areas and the room. The hotel is conveniently located directly off US1 and close to the Everglades; with a number of restaurants and also Walmart nearby.
This is a handy hotel while travelling to and from the Keys, but in need of some TLC.

Room Tip: A high room is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello Bob024,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We apprecitate your input and will use it to reach our goal of exceeding the expectations of all of our guests. We hope that when you are in the area, you will think of the Holiday Inn Express Florida City as your hotel of preference.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were pleased with the location of this hotel en route to The Keys. It sufficed our needs. The room was large, older vintage but everything worked and there were tea bags waiting for us!
WE found a take away close by for a light meal and had a good night's sleep. The breakfast in the morning was the usual Express fare but enough was there to start our day off.

Room Tip: Don't take a room at the back of the hotel as there is an all night bar there playing music
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello Marshfish,

We appreciate the review you posted. We're glad that you had a good expereice while staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. Whenever you are en route to the Florida keys, we hope that we are your preference for hotel accommodations.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA state
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very handy to Everglades NP. Large well-furnished room. Terrible drive in & access--sudden narrow driveway off hwy, or from back-of-building arterial, which we used most for best local connections, had to make 5 turns to get off property. Worst problem was that the bathroom light and fan were on the same switch, and the fan was exceptionally loud and blaring....bothersome during the night. Bedside light switch on left (room 114) does not function....had to twist bulb on and off. We also had to rearrange some wires/plug-ins to make left-side lamp work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We understand that there are plenty of hotels you could have selected. We appreciate you informing us of your experience. We hope that if you are ever in the area you would select us as your hotel of preference.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Florida City
Ramada Florida City
#9 of 12 in Florida City
3.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034-5604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing