We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the whole, if you are visiting this area it's a good place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on a recent trip to Florida. It's about half an hour's easy drive to MIA airport.
The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. A free breakfast is included, free parking also, as is wifi throughout. The swimming pool is small but functional.
There are a few restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel or try the nearby town of Homestead. The Florida Keys Outlet centre is a few minutes drive away.

The rooms need some attention and feel musty but they are spacious, with TV and workdesk although no in room safe. However, you can ask at reception, where they will lock up your goods in a laptop sized safe.

On the whole, if you are visiting this area it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latoya M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We appreciate your input and value your comments. We hope to accommodate you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 418 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is one of those places that once you've been there you probably don't need to go back. The desk people were as nice as could be. The room was nice but the hall and elevator were spooky. The elevator worked but you wondered from one time to the next if it might change it's mind. Lots of hesitation and odd noises. The hallway was very narrow and dark, so not too inviting there either. Our room was directly above the office so our view was the rooftop of the entrance. Don't know what it is about us but it seems we often get assigned to that "choice" location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R&MRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

R&MRich,

Thank you for your recent stay, and feedback. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is a real a come and go hotel; suitable for guests traveling to the Florida Keys.
Very simple; not too good service overpriced and always busy.
Not a place for a holiday since there is really not so much to o close to the hotel.
But if you arrive late and leave early, it is on the Highway # 1 and that is an advantage

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rudie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear rudie_11,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The night before we stayed here, we stayed at the Homewood Suites in Dania Beach, Fl. The cost of the room was exactly the same and both hotels have rooms with beds. That is about the limit of their similarity. The Hilton was outstanding.

I wouldn't send my mean sister-in-law to this Holiday Inn Express.

Pros: 1. Lobby was clean and inviting
2. Check-in was prompt.
3. The breakfast _area_ was pleasant.
4. Coffee with breakfast was good.

Cons: 1. We reserved 2 queens; we got a king.
2. The room can only be described as shabby ... unless you prefer "grungy." It even smelled musty and dirty.
3. Oddly enough, there were TWO tables but only one chair, which was uncomfortable and squeaked if you leaned back.
4. The mattress was OK, but there were four tiny, soft pillows (king-sized bed, remember.) Two were labelled "firm" but .... not even close. One of the pillows smelled.
5. No extra pillow or blanket.
6. Refrigerator in the room had to be unplugged because it clicked.
7. Very flimsy plastic glasses.
8. Breakfast selection was OK, although the hot items we tried (pre-made omelets, sausage, biscuits and gravy) were all horribly oversalted. I threw out mine and settled for raisin bran with yogurt ... and the cereal was stale!

I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. In fact, I'll think twice before I stay in a Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anneofthieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latoya M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Upon reading your review, I am very disappointed that you had the experience that you did. It is never the intention of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florida City or the Holiday Inn brand to not meet your expectations. We understand how important it is to ensure your satisfaction and would welcome another opportunity to accommodate you or your family. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had an excellent stay at Holiday Inn Express in Florida City!! Everyone was very accommodating, including the Manager, Latoya. We would definitely stay here again if business calls in the area! My husband had appointments on Sunday and I was able to enjoy the pool, which was clean and surrounded by very nice lounge chairs. There was a vending maching close by with refreshments. It was a great afternoon. We also took advantage of the cardio room and breakfast. Both were great and convenient. Many thanks to everyone at this Holiday Inn Express! Eugene and Leslie Lee

Room Tip: I'm sure any of the rooms would be lovely--Were glad to have a fridge, microwave, etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeslieDiamondLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here for a 1 night stay prior to visiting the Keys, we tried Best Western but they were full and it was getting late. The rate was a bit expensive, but when you need a bed and are tired then you take it. The hotel all looked clean, the only problem was everywhere smelled of damp. Outside they seemed to have a reed bed sewerage system and we thought that might be the smell. The toilet didn't empty quite as quick as we are used to and the water hung around in the bath when taking a shower so drains seemed poor. Breakfast was a lacklustre affair, nothing seemed attractive to eat and coffee was very strange. Didn't use the pool at all. In fact we were glad to leave next morning and would book a stay elsewhere in advance next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANDRA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCARE at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear SANDRA E,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Wanted to try this motel for several years and finally made the necessary reservations. Very easy to find, seemed safe and clean. We were warmly greeted by the night clerk
Breakfast area is huge and well run. A big TV is there for all to watch.
Computers in lobby (2) worked kinda OK, but the mice need replacement.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Impala guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway To The Keys
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City
Quality Inn Florida City
#2 of 12 in Florida City
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
980 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
3.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034-5604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range: $133 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing