We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food; go for the PIE!”

Farmers' Market Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 40 Restaurants in Florida City
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Columbia, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
671 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Average food; go for the PIE!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had so-so dinners of meatloaf and fish. Nothing wrong with either, just nothing special. But we were there because I have raved about the key lime pie served at the Farmers' Market Restaurant for years. My husband had heard it often, including the echos of people who'd eaten key lime pie there with me.

He was so impressed by the pie that we came back today to have a mid-afternoon slice!

The food is o.k. The pie is wonderful.

A downside is the air conditioning system is uncommonly loud, making conversation a bit difficult.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    92
    40
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seafood without taste”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Felt really disappointed with the food. Fried conch, fried shrimps and fried fish. Served with 2 sauces in plastic cups.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
“food is poor”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were there for dinner on Saturday night - very sad experience. As other reviews mentioned the place is simple, so we did not expect much. Though entire absence of other customers should have been a warning. Service was nice, but food was very poor. The OK items were salad and blackened catch of the day fish. Mash potato and rice cooked probably several days ago, pasta and meat balls - my 12-year old said their school cafeteria make them better. Seafood plate with very poor crabcakes. And all that was not cheap either. This has been worst eating out experience we had in a long-long time. I am surprised at the people who gave it excellent and very good reviews.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“dinner”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

we had dinner it was good dinner but one staff was nice the other did not really speak need to be more friendly to visitors

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vinetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We happened to pass this restaurant on the way to Everglades National Park and thought it would be perfect for breakfast. We should have suspected something when there was not another soul in there at 9 a.m. The service from the two elderly waitresses was slow and not friendly. The prices were way too high and the food was very poor. My pancakes were grainy and unappetizing. My husband had biscuits and gravy and found both to be unsatisfactory. We spent $20 on breakfast (as opposed to about $12 at Waffle House) and we both left half of the food. Maybe it's better for other meals, but I would steer clear at breakfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thewinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmers' Market Restaurant also viewed

 
Florida City, FL
 

Been to Farmers' Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing