We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Farmers' Market Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Florida City
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Friendly staff but that's about it. Food very bland and overpriced. No atmosphere whatsoever. There are better options.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    92
    40
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a local resident who said we should ignore the name and just go. Hey, we're not talking haute cuisine here. But this place is indeed a treat. It is roomy, bright, clean, and offers solidly good food at a very reasonable cost with outstanding service. What's not to like? Our party of 3 each ordered different items and all were pleased--no, let's say delighted!--with our food. This would be our first choice upon any return to this area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place has great breakfast specials and lunch specials too. The food is always cooked just as I ordered it. Waitresses are very friendly and service is great. They refill my coffee with a smile.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank shopaholic2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COAL VALLEY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Strange place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel desk clerk sent us. In a wholesale market. Well we were up for it after looking at a menu. The fish fry was very good and meat balls and spagetti were very good. We plan on going back next year

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilvica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
858 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood and service; restaurant a bit "rustic"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

You actually have to go into the wholesale market to get to this restaurant (free-standing building behind industrial fence). The seafood was very good: we had conch chowder along with a fried seafood combo. At $17 (soup included), it wasn't exactly cheap (and I wonder how the local workers can afford to regularly eat here), but it was fairly priced. And the local Travelodge gave us a 10% coupon. Friendly "down home" service. They don't serve alcohol, but you can bring your own with no "corkage" fee (a good idea, because sodas at $3 seemed expensive).

My only hesitation about recommending the place is that it's a bit of a dump. The dining room has a certain rustic "market" charm (high ceiling, making me wonder what the building was originally built for), but the restroom (at least the men's) was a bit, um, "run down." Let's just say I've seen better toilets in rural China.

Still, if you can get over that, or hold your bladder, this is a fine place to enjoy local seafood. The restaurant claims their owners are fishermen, so maybe that's the reason.

They also serve breakfast but it looked expensive ($9 entrees) given the rustic conditions. Again, I wonder how the locals afford it (which, given their location, I assume is their target audience).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmers' Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Farmers' Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing