We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everglades International Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florida City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Everglades International Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

+ cozy personal atmosphere
+ hammocks in the garden
+ open kitchen for everyone
+ helpful staff
+ great kayaking tour available
+ handy stop on your way back from the keys
+ nearby bakery and mexican restaurant

Room Tip: Go kayaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bow E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    46
    19
    8
    12
See reviews for
31
80
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful, wondrous place: how lucky we were to come across it, thanks to the Lonely Planet Guidebook, which spoke of it as a 'green' Eco-hostel. But this is not your usual Youth Hostel. It's a meeting place for pilgrims from all over the world, who are drawn to the Everglades as a wilderness centre and then discover that human beings can be kind, generous and warm hearted also. Ohnn - a woman with a vision - came here 16 years ago after a seven year search to find where she could create a sanctuary and this is the result. All sorts of accommodation are available: we had a well appointed, comfortable bedroom, sharing a bathroom/shower with one other room. Self catering, with primitive but clean facilities. Every sort of modern IT comfort. A waterfall, tree hammocks, just beautiful. If this review is your sort of thing, then, if you are in the area, do spend a night, or two, or more, here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice on a recent trip to Florida and as soon as we walked in to the garden area we were bowled over by the amazing quirkiness of the place. A huge amount of love and effort have gone into this hostel and it shows.
The roped tree house and the rock pool ( invigorating for a dip in the mornings) and the Bedouin tents and chill out room are all wonderful. It is a great vibe running throughout and is inhabited by all nations of all ages.
We also took the trip to the Everglades national park which included the mangrove canoe trip. Fantastic place. Thank you guys.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanRower64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a private room with shared bath...it was all most unusual,relaxing,and wonderful. Lots of friendly,welcoming folks here,and an atmosphere of 'just relax'... The building is vintage....loved the beautiful courtyard! The shared kitchen,free pancakes(make yourself) and space to cook,eat,and meet people from around the world was great. After a long day visiting the 'Glades,it was great hanging out with a cup of tea,cooking up some dinner,and eating outside with the resident parrot watching over us.This is not your average cookie cutter place to stay,some people just tenting in the yard,others in shared dorms...it is way more of an experience than a hotel room. (Love the waterfall grotto)I look forward to visiting again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hsmamatotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

As this was my first time staying in a hostel I was a little nervous. Once I walked in the front door and was greeted by Brandon I was welcomed with warmth and kindness. The whole environment was very relaxing , staff and guests very friendly but I was also able to find the alone time I was seeking. The hostel is very clean , including the dorm room I stayed in. outside area , which looked nice online, but in fact was fantastic, was my very favorite. The cool swimming hole , to the little areas tucked here and there for reading. I fear that if I ever stay another hostel the bar has been set very high. I would recommend this wonderful place .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethsam61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hostel, and it was extremely friendly with a good crowd of people guesting in the place. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable, and I can even recommend the Tex Mex place over the road. It was the best we had in our three week stay in the South.

Our private room was really tidy and well presented, and the general lay out of the hostel in general was decent. The only reason I gave this 3 stars is that in the morning I couldn't find a bathroom. The place wasn't that busy yet every door was locked when I came to brush my teeth and use the loo! If this is how it is in low-season, how must it be when the place is rocking? A must-stay if you're in low season but unless there were some other toilets I missed I can't imagine it's must fun once the rooms are full and the yard crammed with campers. It was also quite expensive for a hostel and could do with some competition.

Room Tip: If you get a private do clarify whether you get exclusive use of nearby toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neurotictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hostel with super comfy dorm room. It is near the entrance of everglade park. However, you should have a car or buy a package tour to visit there. I did not drive but I shared a ride with another guest of the hostel. On the way back, I used public transportation to reach fort lauderdale airport which was not tough at all. The bus stop to metrorail is 1 min walk. The dorm room is just like your room in your house, very very nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AomAmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 14 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Redland
The Hotel Redland
#3 of 14 in Homestead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades International Hostel

Property: Everglades International Hostel
Address: 20 SW 2nd Ave, Florida City, FL 33034-4928
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy laid back hostel just 10 miles from the Everglades National Park and Biscayne National Park, John Pennekamp State park and the Florida Keys are just 45 minutes south.The hostel offers Guided Everglades Tours, canoe rentals and bike rentals. Close to Schnebly Redland's Winery, Robert is Here fruit stand and the Everglades Alligator Farm for Airboat rides! Plus Skydive Miami, R.F. Orchids and Coral Castle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Everglades International Hotel Florida City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing