We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florida City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Everglades International Hostel
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were coming back from key West to Miami and stopped randomly to find a place to stay for one night so it was a chance that we found the hostel. It turned out to be a little paradise with a beautiful garden, a waterfall pool, trees to climb, hammocks and more... We discovered something new and exciting with every step. The check out was at 12.00 but we were allowed to stay in the garden as much as we wanted and although we had other plans we decided to have a longer rest in this little paradise. The staff are very friendly, open minded and so kind! A very down to earth place. We had a private double room which was comfortable and clean. I would definitely recommend the place. I wish we could stay longer, I am sure it's a great place to meet some amazing people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 229 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

While writting, I am still in that lovely, big garden with all it's charming places, tables and couchs, hammocks, tree house, etc. It's a little paradise in the middle of otherwise ugly Florida City. I would love to stay a couple of days longer, jump in that natural pool and enjoy the garden a bit longer.

Anyway, the room itself - double room with shared bathroom - was clean, bright, with good AC and a comfortable bed.
There is a fully equiped kitchen to use, and excellent coffee in the morning.

The hostel is a good starting place for Everglade trips, and also very close to John Pennekamp Coral Reef Park for snorkeling. Therefore, skip the boring, overpriced Key Largo Hotels and stay here - it's far better.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The best hostel I've ever been! Great staff, beautifull garden, fully equiped kitchen open 24/7 and low price. Everglades hostel have something magicly, the atmosphere is amazing. Close to Everglades, close to Miami and Florida Keys. I love this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolgerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The atmosphere is amazing. The hostel itself is an attraction to see. There is a waterfall, a tree house, and hammocks. You could get lost in the backyard. The accommodations are clean and spacious. The staff is incredible. They are friendly and conscientious. They create a welcoming environment. The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable. Everything is very clean and professionally run. Environmentally conscious environment/atmosphere. Camping is available in the backyard. Would highly recommend if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms available first if you want different options. You are able to set up a tent in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkeley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I booked a private room for two days, and ended up with booking for a third day. The energy here is just so right. The garden, the friendly and easy going people who run it, the facilities, including the many tours to the Everglades you can book, and the guests it apparently attracts; I would not know of a better place to stay in South Florida than this hostel. Thanks Shelly, Ron, Dave and everyone else there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in a private room, it was very comfortable, clean and quiet. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I took a day tour and this was also excellent and great value for money. I only wish I had stayed longer so I could have more time to relax in the fantastic backyard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everglades Intl H, Owner at Everglades International Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for review! We love it when people enjoy their time here. We put our heart and soul into this little place. Sometimes it shines!...Come back again, Owhnn and Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I really want to recommend this hostel for people who want to go to the Everglades. It is really a nice hostel where you can stay in dorm rooms, but you can also book a private room with private bathroom (which we did). The garden is really beautiful with the waterfall and the nice houses, shared kitchen and plants. We also did a day tour and it was really great with a wet walk and canoe tour. Our guide Alex told us everything about the Everglades and it was very interesting. We had a pleasant time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florida City hotels
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
991 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Florida City/Homestead/Everglades
0.2 mi away
Fairway Inn Florida City
Fairway Inn Florida City
#5 of 12 in Florida City
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gateway To The Keys
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City
Quality Inn Florida City
#3 of 12 in Florida City
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades International Hostel

Address: 20 SW 2nd Ave, Florida City, FL 33034-4928
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Florida City
Price Range: $17 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy laid back hostel just 10 miles from the Everglades National Park and Biscayne National Park, John Pennekamp State park and the Florida Keys are just 45 minutes south.The hostel offers Guided Everglades Tours, canoe rentals and bike rentals. Close to Schnebly Redland's Winery, Robert is Here fruit stand and the Everglades Alligator Farm for Airboat rides! Plus Skydive Miami, R.F. Orchids and Coral Castle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Everglades International Hotel Florida City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing