We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Hostel I've Visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades International Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florida City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Everglades International Hostel
Save
You added Everglades International Hostel to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Best Hostel I've Visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The atmosphere is amazing. The hostel itself is an attraction to see. There is a waterfall, a tree house, and hammocks. You could get lost in the backyard. The accommodations are clean and spacious. The staff is incredible. They are friendly and conscientious. They create a welcoming environment. The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable. Everything is very clean and professionally run. Environmentally conscious environment/atmosphere. Camping is available in the backyard. Would highly recommend if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms available first if you want different options. You are able to set up a tent in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkeley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    43
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
75
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I booked a private room for two days, and ended up with booking for a third day. The energy here is just so right. The garden, the friendly and easy going people who run it, the facilities, including the many tours to the Everglades you can book, and the guests it apparently attracts; I would not know of a better place to stay in South Florida than this hostel. Thanks Shelly, Ron, Dave and everyone else there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in a private room, it was very comfortable, clean and quiet. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I took a day tour and this was also excellent and great value for money. I only wish I had stayed longer so I could have more time to relax in the fantastic backyard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everglades Intl H, Owner at Everglades International Hostel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for review! We love it when people enjoy their time here. We put our heart and soul into this little place. Sometimes it shines!...Come back again, Owhnn and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I really want to recommend this hostel for people who want to go to the Everglades. It is really a nice hostel where you can stay in dorm rooms, but you can also book a private room with private bathroom (which we did). The garden is really beautiful with the waterfall and the nice houses, shared kitchen and plants. We also did a day tour and it was really great with a wet walk and canoe tour. Our guide Alex told us everything about the Everglades and it was very interesting. We had a pleasant time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MvB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Based on a recommendation by friends we stayed at the Hostel for one night on our way to Key West and we did not regret it. The staff is great, the grounds are paradise for kids and our private (Wind) room came with 3 sets of bunk beds for our family of four. The atmosphere is casual and if you don't want to cook your own meal, there is a Starbucks around the corner and a Mexican restaurant just opposite. We went on the evening tour with a small group which was a fantastic introduction to the Everglades night life. All in all a great stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family group in The Library room. It was clean and quiet and had a moving library ladder! What is more interesting are the grounds. As far as we could tell Florida City is fairly ordinary but a good starting point for the Everglades. However the backyard was extraordinary with a treehouse and hammock...a natural spring / plunge pond and several lounge areas. This was fairly surreal and a great adventure for the kids. The staff were really friendly and it felt like we had droppped into a house party rather than a hostel. The kayak tour was expertly guided and we saw Gators and crocodiles close up. If we had known how cool this place and the Everglades were we would have stayed longer. If like us you are not "hostel" people fear not. The rooms are good clean and aircon..though you can crash or stay in a dorm if you prefer. Just note you make your own pancakes and tidy up after yourself here....this isn't South Beach...but that's no big deal. A real gem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveldadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

On our Roadtrip from New York to Key West, we followed the Lonely Plant Guide to this amazing place! So what makes a place/hostel amazing: Very positive and relaxed atmosphere, great people and interesting characters (not weird characters, just interesting!), very clean rooms and beds, a backyard with tree houses, hammocks, a fresh-water waterfall to swim in (no kidding!), tents with pillows and blankets, bonfire places and a big fully equipped kitchen! It was so great that we decided to stay one more night, not because of the Everglades, because of this Oasis!
AND: The full day Everglades Tour! I am normally against Tours because they are expensive and you want to experience the nature by yourself, BUT this tour was the most well spended 100$ on the whole Roadtrip!
The Tourguide, his name is Alex, was exactly the kind of Guide we wanted on the Tour through the Everglades. Just imagine Crocodile Dundee, with the brain of a biologist and the physical ability to kill every Alligator on the way (he couldn't but he would at least try it;-))- this is Alex. At first we went on a trail, where Alex made a quick introduction to all the plants, fishes and of course the animals. No highly academic talks, just short and interesting stories about all the species we saw on the trail (we saw 36 Alligators piled up at one spot!). After that we went on a Swamp Tour through a cypress forest- great scenery for great pictures! And then came the Highlight: the Kajak Tour through the mangroves! My heart was just beating when we passed those calm and relaxed looking alligators! This was by far the closest I will ever get to such amazing animals! So like the last 3 reviews said before: If you are in Florida, go to the Everglades Hostel and do the tour!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wind room- that was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xaverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades International Hostel

Property: Everglades International Hostel
Address: 20 SW 2nd Ave, Florida City, FL 33034-4928
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy laid back hostel just 10 miles from the Everglades National Park and Biscayne National Park, John Pennekamp State park and the Florida Keys are just 45 minutes south.The hostel offers Guided Everglades Tours, canoe rentals and bike rentals. Close to Schnebly Redland's Winery, Robert is Here fruit stand and the Everglades Alligator Farm for Airboat rides! Plus Skydive Miami, R.F. Orchids and Coral Castle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Everglades International Hotel Florida City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing