We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Incredible Everglades Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades International Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florida City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Everglades International Hostel
Save
You added Everglades International Hostel to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Incredible Everglades Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Didnt stay at the hostel but the full day everglades trip was a great great trip. Kayaking with alligators was definitely the highlight, but whilst it was an adrenaline rush the guides made it feel very safe and at no point did it seem like anyone was in any danger. All the equipment was provided, if you can go on this trip do!!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank dmaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    43
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
75
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The eight hour tour was a blast and we learned a lot. Chris was a fun and knowledgeable guide who helped us spot lots of wildlife. We kayaked through the mangroves in the morning (gators!) had a picnic lunch (provided) at Flamingo, waded through a cypress grove in the afternoon (more gators!) and ended the day on the Anhinga Trail (too many gators to count!)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As far as Hostels go. It's only the second one I've ever stayed in but it was fun. We called the day we needed 3 beds and got a private room at half off. Very friendly staff, well supplied kitchen, coffee and make your own pancakes included. Very clean. Great outdoor areas for eating and mingling.

Room Tip: We called the day we needed 3 beds and they gave us a room with 3 bunkbeds to ourselves. Was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the Denby small cottage across the alley from the Hostel. The cottage was equipped with a king bed, newly renovated large bathroom, sink, microwave, coffee maker and wifi for $125/night. There were both indoor (enclosed porch) and outdoor sitting areas. The only downside was the ceiling clearance - not great for anyone over 6'3. You could be as communal with the hostel dwellers as you wanted (or not). We made pancakes at the hostel both mornings and were not disturbed by any noise from the hostel yard. The big plus was the canoe rental for $30/day, which we brought to the Everglades. The staff also directed us to good food in the area. The downside was the location, which while being close to the park is still quite far and in a poorer neighbourhood. However, we would probably stay there again on our next Everglades visit.

Room Tip: The Nenby small was great for a couple wanting complete privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_wanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hostel is what they should be. I've stayed at a lot of hostels and this one really surprised me. First off we weren't sure if we should stay cause it was $18 per person to pitch a tent in their backyard. It would be nice of they would charge per tent plus a fee per person but they backyard it a trip! I spent a couple of hours taking pictures there, and more the next morning between self-serve pancakes and awesome people. They have beautiful trees, a big round gazebo-type thing, a good kitchen to use, a fridge, books, GOOD DUB-STEP. Yeah, this place is nice. BTW southern Florida is very expensive and the price is acceptable for a hostel. They even made a waterfall where I went for a swim in the morning. Trips to the everglades are possible and rangers in the park actually recommend them as a tours and rentals place. Kudos to Everglades and this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smartsville ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a perfect location for for exploreing south florida,if you are into fishing the local water's abound with a varitey of fish.I caught at least ten diferent species in the week i spent there,on my last day I went to Biscayne Bay.Fishing was slow ,I was ready to head back when I spotted Ashley a fellow resident at the Hostel,we were talking while drifting in or kayak's,I took a cast into the channel and hooked a sea monster,it pulled my boat about two hundred yard's into a stiff headwind,after about twenty minutes,the line snapped.Never did see what I hooked,my new photographer and winded I paddeled back too the secret spot,.I took a few more cast's,holy moley ! I got another one.This one did the same ,headed up wind for a long way's turned right into the shallow's,after another twenty minutes It was fifty feet from the boat I was opptomistic I might see this one,,it start's to surface along comes a big old shark,a big splash, slack line.Back to the spot,a few cast's later I got another one,same routine the fish head's upwind turn's then makes a U turn and head's out into the bay.After about one half hour and half a mile out I finely land this one,a ten pound Jack.Ashley been eating cambel's soup for day's and want's to barbque the fish back at the hostel which we did using firewood supplied by Dlyan a young staff member.With the help of guest's and staff we ate the whole thing.To all you traveler's the Everglades Hostel is a great place,,beatiful people,helpful staff,awsome live entertainment at great price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place represents superb value for money on any stopover to the Everglades or Keys. You have to accept that you get what you pay for so don't expect to be waited on or have a king bed with en suite and ocean view !
What you get do get are great location, lovely grounds and clean facilities.
One warning, if staying in a dormitory, take earplugs and a sense of humor...especially if you end up sharing with a snorer !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades International Hostel

Property: Everglades International Hostel
Address: 20 SW 2nd Ave, Florida City, FL 33034-4928
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy laid back hostel just 10 miles from the Everglades National Park and Biscayne National Park, John Pennekamp State park and the Florida Keys are just 45 minutes south.The hostel offers Guided Everglades Tours, canoe rentals and bike rentals. Close to Schnebly Redland's Winery, Robert is Here fruit stand and the Everglades Alligator Farm for Airboat rides! Plus Skydive Miami, R.F. Orchids and Coral Castle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Everglades International Hotel Florida City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing