We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection fresh made from Scratch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria Morelia

Taqueria Morelia
961 W Palm Dr, Florida City, FL 33034-3103
305-247-7552
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Web site, google, urban spoon etc etc
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfection fresh made from Scratch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Simple fabulous Mexican
No sour cream in sight
Unusual and delicious
A secret spot
Locals from all walks of lude

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sagamore123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Salsa Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Cute, authentic Mexican cafe that is easy on the pocketbook. The food is first rate for a cafe, no fancy extras, or show stopping presentation. Once served you can head over tot he salsa bar and get your salsa on. Don't be shy - give it a try - you might be surprised.

Really, the place costs a few dollars and has some great food - totally worth it. It is a taqueria - think cafeteria or diner. If that is not what you are looking for, go elsewhere. If it is then you will really enjoy this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key largo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is not the best Mexican food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Really? I know this is Florida City, but come on. This is far from being the best Mexican food in Florida City...I know Toro Taco is in Homestead, but do yourself a favor and go there its cleaner has atmosphere and the food is really much better. Avoid this place if you don't want to get Montezuma's revenge like we did. Just ask them to look in the kitchen before you order. I'll bet they won't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy! Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Pork tacos were delicious and very reasonably priced. Definite stop again! Stopped at neighboring gas station and thought why not? Good decision!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Maybe a little too authentic for my taste.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ordered the pork burritos that they show in a photo that is cooked on a rotisserie. The meat was extremely greasy and too well done. The beans were fine but the rice was a little dry. The side of avocado was a generous portion. I did not like the chips and salsa. The chips were like pita chips but mostly broken up, very thick and the salsas are from a toppings bar. There were several choices of salsa which were watery, too spicy, or too many onions. Overall I expected more based on the reviews. The prices are reasonable but it can add up as everything is a la cart. It is a very spartan, plain place and appears to do a great business with the locals. I think I prefer Tex Mex or Americanized Mexican, this is authentic kind.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie34099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Morelia also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing