We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Restaurant and seafood market - CLOSED

Captain's Restaurant and seafood market
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Captain's Restaurant and Seafood Market is officially closed. We would like to thank the patrons from near and far for all the great reviews,the average reviews and the not so good ones. Happy Trails
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
192 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Just like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

By "home" we mean this is the kind of place you would frequent back home, for the good food and value. Nothing pretentious about the place, but it has a nice laidback feeling. We had hogfish and mahi mahi and it was very good, served by a friendly waitress who told us the key lime pie is "awesome" so we tried it - and it really was good! Within walking distance of two hotels.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Birdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    52
    19
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

No frills restaurant with amazing seafood. The fish tacos were divine and the final bill was even better! Great seafood which I have no hesitation in recommending.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Late dinner. It was good food and the staff were freindly and didn't try to rush us out the door at closing time. Close to the hotel we stayed at.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lachen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavy food, but nice service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The service was good, but the food was defintely average. The sauces were very creamy and too heavy. It was ok food but too much! For the price the quality was on the low end.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_mdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant close to the Best Western hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Florida City is probably not noted for it's cuisine or fine hotel accommodations, but the Captain's Restaurant pretty much exceeded our expectations. Had a very nice meal there. We had the lobster bisque and the clam chowder and salads, so can't really comment on most of their menu items. The lobster bisque was very nice, but maybe a bit much on the sherry. Still nice though. The clam chowder had a bit too many potatoes, but such a nice spicy heat that you kind of forgot the potatoes. Would definitely recommend this as a place to eat in Florida City.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank toujoursparis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Restaurant and seafood market also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing