We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place that Allows Pets”
Review of Whale Watch Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagler Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whale Watch Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Flagler Beach B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Huntsville, AL
12
Reviewed May 29, 2006

We stayed in an efficiency room at the Whale Watch Motel for four nights near the end of May and had a great time. We were very happy to find a nice place that would let us stay with our two small dogs. I am writing this review since we just happened to find the motel while searching online and our decision to stay there was largely based on the reviews that we read here.

Our room was clean and equipped with a complete set of kitchen appliances in good working order. Ample dishes, silverware, etc. were also provided. Furnishings included a comfortable king-sized bed, futon, and kitchen table with two chairs. Fast wireless internet access was provided by several access points spread around the property. The bathroom was equipped with a nice, large shower. However, there was no tub.

The beach access is just across the A1A from the motel. The beach itself was very nice and not at all crowded. There were rarely more than five or six other people anywhere near us. Often, we had the entire place to ourselves. We saw dolphins, pelicans, and ospreys every day.

Most of the guests appeared to be couples or families, many of them with pets. We did not encounter anyone that was loud or unruly.

Overall, we thought this was a great place to stay with our dogs. The owners are very laid back and do not object to pets being left in the rooms unattended. This is not a fancy hotel, but it is clean and reasonably priced. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 149 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2006

Barry and Pat were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make sure we were well provided for.

The accommodations were clean, and unpretentious. If you want the Ritz, go somewhere else. We wanted a place handy to the beach at a reasonable price and we were very happy. Route A1A runs between the motel and beach, but there was not much traffic and it was not very fast. In April, the beach was mostly deserted.

We were very happy and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2006
3  Thank kleinschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Northeast
12
Reviewed April 26, 2006

We have stayed at the whale watch 2 years in a row and then another year went by and we went back again. We liked it because we could bring our dog and because we were traveling from up North we wanted and needed a nice comfortable place to call home for a week. The old owners were great and kept the place beautiful. Rooms were clean and you would never know people stayed there with dogs. Never a problem with anything and the people that came to stay were nice and quiet. That was the first 2 years.
The last year there were new owners and the place looked run down compared to previous years. We go there an there was no bottom screen in the door and with most people having dogs that stay there we would of ended up having a stange dog suprising us. The grass areas were almost none compared to the previous years and the sand had dozens of ant hills. My dog couldnt find an area to do her business without getting ants on her. And for the first year ever my dog got fleas !!!! We have her on year round protection and she has never never had fleas until that last year we stayed there!!
On top of that the guests that stayed there that week were noisy and inconsiderate. There were people burning in fire pits that smoke came into our rooms and we had to shut the door and windows. Radios out on the porches you had no privacy. Telling the owners didnt do much good either ....There was no relaxing on this trip. Very disappointed and sad that we lost such a nice relaxing retreat to go to.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2006

My husband, two daughters, myself & our two large dogs - a Newfie & a French Mastiff stayed at the Whale Watch Inn last year for a long weekend. Everyone there was so kind, the room was nice & they made our stay quite comfortable. I highly recommend staying there when visiting Flagler Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seafarer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Orlando, FL
12
Reviewed March 22, 2006

Hubby and I stayed in Cottage 8 for an extended weekend with our English Mastiff pup. Our trip was filled with sand and surf fun. The accomodations were exactly what we needed...with some much appreciated luxuries like an unbeatable ocean views, quaint decor, and close pool access. Cottages are equipped with full kitchenettes, futons, cable TV & VCR. The three-room (+ bath) style of the cottage provided us with ample space. Our hosts welcomed us with doggie treats and tidied up behind us most thoroughly.
Flagler Beach is a great place to vacation with a pet. Other travelers were accompanied by dogs and/or cats. There are several dog-friendly beaches, trails, and outdoor restaurants in the area. Locals are friendly and helpful. We even enjoyed a day trip to St. Augustine for a dog-friendly sip from the Fountain of Youth!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lansing, Michigan
12
Reviewed January 28, 2006

I found the Whale Watch Motel to be a very clean, no-frills, amiable place to stay with all of the basic necessities well handled. Barry and Pat are extremely pleasant and thoughtful owners who go out of their way to make a visit enjoyable.

The Motel makes a great base to enjoy the ocean beach (right across the street) and the Intercoastal waterway (with an excellent boardwalk in town). Whale Watch Motel is on the outskirts of Flagler Beach, a small town that does NOT feel like a tourist trap, with good restaurants and nice people.

The Whale Watch Motel is not for those looking for upscale accomodations or for party central -- no doubt that is why I enjoyed staying there so much that I am coming back in the spring with my mother, who has never been to Florida.

It was a delight to discover that there are still little pieces of "Old Florida" left to enjoy and I am looking forward to going back soon.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa, Ontario
13
Reviewed January 5, 2006

Friendly owners, good service, and well equipped rooms, but don't expect to enjoy sitting out on the poorches or patios unless you have a high tolerance for noise. Two principal sources of noise are the busy A1A highway and the commercial air conditioner belonging to the sports bar next door, which is located right next to the cottages. Since the cottages are concrete, they don't muffle the noise very well, so you can here these noises even inside. Not a problem for sleeping, but not a place to relax in peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flagler Beach
9.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Palm Coast
1.7 mi away
A1A Motel
A1A Motel
#4 of 12 in Flagler Beach
66 reviews
1 mi away
Flagler Beach Motel
Flagler Beach Motel
#5 of 12 in Flagler Beach
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Suites on the Beach
Suites on the Beach
#7 of 12 in Flagler Beach
24 reviews
1.8 mi away
The White Orchid Inn and Spa
The White Orchid Inn and Spa
#2 of 12 in Flagler Beach
423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel / Motel
Topaz Hotel / Motel
#9 of 12 in Flagler Beach
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Watch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Watch Motel

Address: 2448 S Ocean Shore Blvd, Flagler Beach, FL 32136-4019
Location: United States > Florida > Flagler Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Flagler Beach
Price Range: $40 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actually and truly, a 1950's Mom & Pop Motel. One of the last in Florida. Quiet, Clean, and Safe, It's Mayberry by the Sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whale Watch Hotel Flagler Beach
Whale Watch Flagler Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing