We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum with a beach view”

High Tides at Snack Jack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Yum with a beach view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I just love Snack Jack's and always go there when visiting the Ormond beach area. Don't expect glamorous....it is a very casual beach restaurant where you can get a delicious fish sandwich, fries and a beer, all while enjoying an ocean view and sunny outside seating when the weather is good. When it is really chilly, take a jacket as it can be cold if you aren't next to a heater. If you have to wait for a table, just enjoy a walk on the beach while you wait. I am already looking forward to my visit next year.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EmOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    192
    72
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

The food here is great. The shrimp tacos and fish tacos are especially good. It's a great little restaurant with a great view!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureAnnaBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,251 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere; great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was a little dive right on the beach. We loved the steamed shrimp and red fish. I had it in fish tacos, our friends had it blackened, and my husband had the shrimp po boy. Everything was great. They had all kinds of fish and fried foods as well as a good choice of beer. Service was very good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yuk !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

View is beautiful, food was terrible, fish tastes frozen, pre-made, staff very friendly. Too bad, the setting is beautiful

Helpful?
1 Thank cathleen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighTideMgmt, Manager at High Tides at Snack Jack, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello there cathleen d from NY,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your fish while visiting our restaurant. What fish did you order? We do hope you informed your server and/or spoke to a manager. We gladly substitute meals if a customer is not happy with their selection. We are confused by the title of your review since it seems like everything else was wonderful. Please come back and try a different fish or dish, perhaps that cut of fish was not up to par, it does happen, just like with any fish or meat. We rarely have complaints on the fish, since it is our top seller, so this could just be a fluke. Please try not to be so hard on us, we promise your next visit will be YUM! instead of yuk :)
Thanks for your feedback, we will definitely keep an eye on our quality.

Sincerely,
Annette Massey
Manager, High Tides at Snack Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The place was crowded. We had a bit of a wait. But we enjoyed the food. (Had to wait for a long time for our change to be returned from the waitress. We saw her at the cash register, we don't know what the excessively long wait was) (while others customers were wanting to sit at our table). Food was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Tides at Snack Jack also viewed

 

Been to High Tides at Snack Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing