We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood, *Great* staff”

High Tides at Snack Jack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Columbus, Oh
Level Contributor
321 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Good seafood, *Great* staff”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Da wife, da boy and I hit the place for dinner about 7:30 pm. Just in time to get a great seat on the beach and get pics of the sunset. It's a small place, picnic tables on the back porch, basic old beach restaurant. Valet parking out of necessity of the small area.

I always ask the waitress for their favorite thing on the menu. Some don't know, some are wishy-washy in their response. We hit the jackpot with our lady here. She schooched me down the table bench, sat down with us and told us what was fresh today and how she liked each one prepared! Heck if I can turn down such recommendations, and she was right.

Da boy got the full pound of spiced/steamed shrimp. It took him a long time to peal, suck and eat the pile but he loved it (and I can attest they were wonderful). Da wife loved her crab cakes and puppies. My red fish tacos (waitress recommendation) were great. End pieces of the fish were crispy. We were all full and happy at the end of the meal.

It was a little pricy (which is why I stayed away from the steamed bucket @ $30) but definitely worth the price of admission! :) Go. Try. You'll like!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UsuallyNotGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    197
    77
    35
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cordele, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A must visit off of A1A”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Love Snack Jacks, and they have some really great Tuna Tacos. We did receive oysters that were milky and falling apart, but the waitress took those off of our bill and apologized. Handled very well! Will keep coming back year after year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GODAWGS626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Grumpy Greeter”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to High Tides at Snack Jack for Fathers Day. The greeter or door person is a long time worker there. His attitude this Sunday was a bit over the top in negativity. We love High Tides and usually go during the week to take advantage of their Happy Hour specials from peel and eat shrimp to good beer prices. We ordered the usual beer and shrimp, plus fish tacos. As usual everything was great. Kudos to all the severs Sunday who put on a happy face for the customers and made our day a fun way to celebrate with our special fathers.



Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank saldontur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

First time that we have tried this place in all of our years of going to Flagler and we were satisfied. Food was good and plentiful. Wish they had liquor license and accepted debit/credit cards but other than that, we enjoyed our visit. Most employees were nice. Door person/greeter could have at least smiled, seemed very grumpy. Prices were reasonable. Might try it again!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dpeters1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
382 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quaint place right on the beach”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We heard about this place from someone at our Hotel and it sounded interesting. It sure was. This place is right on the dunes and a stones throw from the ocean. It is very rustic, with wooden benches. There is outside dining, inside dining and screened dining. We chose the screened area and loved the view and the sound of the ocean. Had a couple of beers and an appitizer of coconut shrimp. They were the best coconut shrimp I have ever had. They came with this delicious rasberry dipping sauce which went well with the shrimp. Remember this is a CASH only place. Valet parking is out front, but they tell you to park across the street down the next street if you do not want valet. It is just a short walk. Motorcycle parking right in front of the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Tides at Snack Jack also viewed

 

Been to High Tides at Snack Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing