We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Gem on Flagler Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Topaz Hotel / Motel
Ranked #10 of 12 Flagler Beach B&B and Inns
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Only Gem on Flagler Beach”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Long time favorite of my family who frequents Flagler. Historic old building converted to hotel and restaurant. 2 stay options - one in the original building & two in the add on hotel (built probably 70's). The later is the cheaper of the 2. Don't stay here if you are looking for luxury, but you cant beat the location right across from the beach. Rooms are cramped but provide a bed to crash on and bathroom to use. This is one of the only resonable selections in the area unless you choose to stay in a condo or rental house.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    30
    22
    19
See reviews for
36
59
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

my family and i stayed her for a week in room 203, which was funny since we were from ct!. we loved every minute of it..look some pople want 1st class everything, well this is not the place. but it is the place if you want friendly service a great price and an awesome view of the ocean! this place is FAR BETTER,than the creepy biker,scumbag hotels we passed on the way!. we all thought the rooms were clean and the staff was very helpfull and courteous. the pool was also very clean as my kids did not want to leave it. i can also say the free vhs rental was awesome! having 2 kids upset about missing spongebob and disney princeses were quickly forgot when i was able to get some frr vhs's from the front desk. we will be back in 2012! count on it! wifi does suck,but when your across from the beach who cares?

Room Tip: get a kitchenette room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jober4li2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I had written a review of the Topaz after staying there a couple of years ago. Back then the motel was clean with a quaint charm and quirkiness that reminded us of the "old school" mom and pop beach motels of the 60's and 70's. Unfortunately, under the new ownership the place has gone down hill fast. It has gone from clean, quirky and charming to just another dumpy motel. The room we stayed in recently seemed dirty and was poorly maintained. We had to settle for a smoking room because that's the only room that was available. The odor of cigarettes was almost unbearable. It hit you like a ton of bricks the moment we entered the room. There were cigarette butts scattered all over the property outside....and I mean all over! The desk staff was friendly and efficient, but the cleaning staff, who I believe to be were the new owners, were anything but. I still love Flagler Beach and I plan to return there often. But we will likely avoid the Topaz if at all possible. BTW- they claimed to have wireless internet access, but the signal was so weak and unreliable that I checked "no" below for "Free High Speed Internet".

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Andycapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagler Beach hotels

Perry, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I go to the Topaz a couple of times a year. I have several dogs and they think of this place as a second home, they are at home there and they are familiar with the staff. These people have always been obliging and helpful, anything that we need they will get it. I have never had a bad experience there, including 1999 when Hurricane Irene came in while we were there.We're going back very soon. Thanks Topaz!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dukebluedevil9210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We traveled to Flagler Beach with our two toy poodles. Looking for a place to rent/buy for vacations in the future. Realtor recommended Topaz because they allow pets. After reading some of the previous comments wasn't too sure we would be happy there, but decided to give it a try. Wanted to be near the beach. Well, it was great! The owners and staff were curtious. We stayed in room 201 and had a spectacular view of the ocean! It had everything we needed for our eight day stay. Location, kitchen, nice people, clean, pet friendly, etc. I would recommend this to anyone travelling with/without pets. If you want a nice (not fancy), clean, friendly, safe place to stay---this is the place! Would stay there again if we hadn't found our vacation home while we were there. We are looking forward to eating at BLUE and being part of the community! Thanks! Topaz, you helped us enjoy our stay at Flagler Beach, Florida.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texaslady44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed at this little gem two separate weeks in April and one in May. Regardless of some of the negative reviews posted. This is a jem right out of old Florida. We happened on to this Motel by chance. If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star place then this is not your cup of tea. But if you are looking for a CLEAN room at a great price with killer views and great staff. Then look no farther. We were treated like we were part of the family. We stayed in rooms 215 once and 212 twice. The dinning at Blue next door is to die for. We had Flounder in orange sauce. Superb. The Spicey Pecan Salad is out of this world. We are a retired couple that doesn't stay just any where. We travel to Florida about 10 times a year. From now on this will be our only stop for a motel. We always call ahead and reserve the room we want a few days before we get there. The young lady that we deal with has never failed to get us in the room we request. We have nothing but praise for Topaz Motel. Bob and Pat from Indiana

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stargazer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2011

It aint fancy, It aint glamorous, but what it is, is close to the beach St Augustine Daytona but far enough away that you can just relax. This place is OLD and perfectly located if you want to see and stay and eat at some great places and want to be close to the pool and the ocean and No Frills. The lobby is a Small museum of antique toys. the home is one of the first in Flagler.
Do not have expectations that your going to stay somewhere glaorous but Relaxing and easy going to will love this place the way me and my wife do!
Smile and take Life Easy!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the Main House
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunadiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flagler Beach
10.0 mi away
Hammock Beach Resort
Hammock Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Palm Coast
1,499 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Coast
7.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Palm Coast
Red Roof Inn Palm Coast
#1 of 11 in Palm Coast
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Coast
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Coast
#2 of 11 in Palm Coast
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
A1A Motel
A1A Motel
#5 of 12 in Flagler Beach
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flagler Beach Motel
Flagler Beach Motel
#4 of 12 in Flagler Beach
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel / Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel / Motel

Property: Topaz Hotel / Motel
Address: 1224 S Ocean Shore Blvd, Flagler Beach, FL 32136-3703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Flagler Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Flagler Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Topaz Hotel / Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Topaz Hotel / Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Flagler Beach
Topaz Hotel Flagler Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing