We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 strikes you're out”
Review of Funky Pelican

Funky Pelican
Ranked #11 of 79 Restaurants in Flagler Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3 strikes you're out”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I tried this place 3 times and we were very disappointed. To sum it up...fried shrimp very good BUT the ones on the bottom were soaked in a pool of oil. French fries were soggy and apparently had been pre cooked and left sitting out (found this on 2 visits). We sent them back and had to wait for fresh ones which arrived after we had finished the other food. The fish sandwich had no taste and the bun is soggy. Ordered the salmon salad sandwich and the serving didn't even cover the bun and my tuna fish salad is much tastier! View excellent...food - well let's just say there are much better choices in FB!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZippyBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank P, General Manager at Funky Pelican, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your detailed description of the food problems you experienced. We will let our management and staff know. We are very sorry your visits have been so disappointing. We would love to speak to you more about your previous visits and see if there is anything we could do to improve your experience. Please email us at funkypelicanflagler@gmail.com if you'd like to discuss more. And thank you again for your constructive criticism and for coming in to the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    432
    162
    62
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“JUST AVERAGE”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The menu is clever and has a lot to offer. I have been two times for lunch. A little disappointed with the food. I expected hamburger to not have been a pre-made frozen patty. Food seems processed and not fresh. I did have breakfast once and enjoyed it. The grits were great. i am in hopes the food taste improves at lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank P, General Manager at Funky Pelican, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We hear great things about breakfast. We apologize your other food choices were a bit disappointing. We'd love to see you come back and try us again. Please inform your server/manager of the issues you've had in the past while you are there and we would love to make the effort to make this next visit spectacular. If you'd like to discuss in more detail please email us at funkypelicanflagler@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Driving A-1-A and looking for a place to eat I remembered years ago that there was a restaurant on the pier. Well, this is a whole lot different from the one I visited 40 years ago but it was a treat. Breakfast...pancakes were delicious and huge. The coffee was welcomed after days of questing for a good cup. The view was great, right on the pier watching people and birds. Don't know if anyone was catching fish but we enjoyed the food and the ambiance. Dollarwise breakfast was a reasonably priced meal.

Fun of meeting people out front while they wrote notes on the chalkboard. We met some folks from the UK on the way to the Daytona 500 and they really enjoyed their meal. We went shell picking on the beach after a hearty breakfast.

We will definitely go back when we're in the area and send anyone we know is going that way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You can't beat the dreamsickle pancakes”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

These pancakes are the best ever made with orange juice and vanilla icing. Never had any this good anywhere.Had them last week and my wife had veggie omlet. All excellent including the service. The girl waited on us was very nice and talked to us like an old friend. We will be back very soon. In the mean time I am trying to make these pancakes at home. Tell me the recipe Frank.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 56Duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Graffiti on the Front, Ocean View on the Back”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Visited twice, and agree with columbus-will that they are improving as they go. If you don't like noise, either eat outside, or in the walled area to the left as you come in. The main dining room is noisy due to the all wood, rustic decor. The menu is different-cute with odd amounts for items - (Iced tea $2.09). BEST FRIED HADDOCK I HAVE EVER HAD. Larger portions. The broccoli slaw is good and a refreshing change, if a bit "overdressed". We were asked by the waitress if it was a special occasion and got a free yummy chocolate cake slice for free with three forks to share. VERY attentive to our needs. A 200% improvement over the "Pier Restaurant" that it replaced, and to my mind, a step up from the "Biker Bar" across the street. Go here, not there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachbabe32136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Pelican also viewed

 

Been to Funky Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing