We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Discovery”

Bulow Plantation Ruins Historic State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Discovery”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visiting these ruins is a real step back in time to the old Florida. We love the natural setting and the historical markers describing the old plantation and its work. The Florida landscape is lovely, the setting quiet, shady and natural....just perfect for imagining what it would have been like to live there long ago.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank clwwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    60
    10
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hammock Beach
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I expected to see the ruins of a plantation house, yet I only saw the ruins of the sugar mill there. The history is worth a visit to this place though. My friend and I wandered through the woods and explored every historical marker and display. The canopy road drive to get to the ruins was one of the nicest highlights of my visit to the ruins.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wraith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala,FL
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a nice surprise”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice to read all the history of the plantation and sugar mill ruins. We were surprised that the ruins were as large as they were.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirsdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very interesting site and a bargain price”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to this state park. You accesss the park via a quite long sand road that is well maintained. The ruins are very interesting if you take the time to read each of the information stands. At $4.00 per car load admission, it is a bargain

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredjld-fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pretty awesome!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The driveway to the ruins was pretty crazy. It looked like something you would see in the movies.. looked like a jungle. Definitely the "real Florida" for sure! We were used to the cities, so this was different. When you get back there, it was pretty neat being able to walk through the entire thing. They had signs that helped you understand what the different areas/parts were used for. The bathrooms were pretty well taken care of, except for some giant coach roaches/beetles up in the screens! UGH!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiepug90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulow Plantation Ruins Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bulow Plantation Ruins Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing