We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maggie's European Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

Maggie's European Bakery & Cafe
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Please note that Maggie's European bakery & cafe has been sold and no longer exists.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Best kept secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I found this little gem in Flagler Beach and could not wait to return. We had a wonderful creative meal that was out of this world! ( Meat lovers Benedict and a French benedict) Only to be met with one of the best servers we have encountered in our travels. Patty was as warm and friendly and was there for our every need! We will be in Flager for a few more days and plan on eating at Maggies everyday until we leave. We found that their menu changes and is always serving something for evryones taste. Don't forget to try one of Maggies out rageous pastries! Can't wait to have breakfast this morning at Maggies!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    40
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolute the best Restraunt I every ate in. Patty are server was the best! The owners were very personal. I like that.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

5 star food and service and family owned If you don't eat here you are missing a great breakfast and I'm sure lunch too! I will always eat here when we come to town! Patty your the best!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Franklolosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Breakfast we had in a very long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast on Sunday and had a wonderful experience. Having travelled extensively thoughout Europe, the moment the four of us walked in we felt we we were right back there. The decor was typically European, the friendliness and the service was typically European as well. We looked at their menu as well as their feature sheets and just fell in love in so many things they had, We focused on their Eggs Benedict which sounded fabulous. we ordered the Polish Bene with Polish Kielbasa (wow) meat lovers Bene(wow) and a Canadian Bacon Bene (wow) the hollandaise sauce was the best we have ever had. Our 4th person had the crepes (double wow) it was delicious and typically French. It was so good we had to order crepes for desert to share between us. We also took a box of baked goods which we had that night and they were all very good baked by Maggie. We had the Austrian Sachertorte which is famous in Austria and we also ordered the Austrian Cream Cheese Coffee Cake and Linzer tarts. If you've travelled to Austria, those cakes are always featured in their cafes. Maggie also stopped by several times and we found out she was born in Germany and her husband Andy was born in France. Service from Julie was excellent and the view, well what can you say, OCEAN FRONT was excellent. We'll be staying here for a few months and Maggie's will be our restaurant of choice. We also plan on attending their specialty European Dinners which sound very exciting. We missed Austrian night last Friday. This place with the food, the ambiance, the view, the staff is just wonderful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very small, but quaint. Food was excellent. Had quiche with mushrooms and shallots. nice egg to other ingredient ratio.scone was perfect! German potato salad was lightly dressed and very good. definitely worth the stop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint Decor...Nice Ocean View....Food Was Adequate.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My Sister and I went twice for breakfast. Both times we had a window table, which has a nice ocean view. The decor is quaint and homey, the space inside is cramped and when all tables full, difficult to have your own conversation. The food was nicely served and the servers are friendly and warm, I had the eggs benedict..unfortunely they were not that terrific. the hollendaise sauce tasted like it was from a can, no lemony taste at all and worst of all was runny. My sister had the eggs, home fries. They looked ok..but nothing special in taste or attractiveness. We looked at the desserts before leaving and took two with us for later in the day. The yellow cake with chocolate frosting and zuccini bars. The bars were not too bad..but no spices in them, and a little on the dry side. The cake. was the issue...dry, tasteless..we each took a bite and the rest went in trash..The last time we went we had omelettes, they were fine, withe the home fries and they were good. This place is gold mine that is not being used correctly. they have the view, the charm..they just need better bakery items, and a little more kick in there food. We will try again at a later date. After than though, might not come back for the fourth time. I truely hope they try a little harder, and step out of the box. they have to remember that half of food is how it looks on the plate, what it tastes like and that some that is not excellent needs to be changed to something that is awesome....Ladies try again please.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrzej1222, Owner at Maggie's European Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We read your review with interest and discussed it amongst ourselves and found your review absolutely false. First and foremost, one of our expert chef's specializes in Eggs Benedicts and after discussing it with him there is absolutely no way your Hollandaise Sauce was runny. The only thing that's runny in an Eggs Benedict is the "EGG" which is poached. You mention the Hollandaise sauce must be from a can? If you knew anything about our industry, there is no such thing as Hollandaise Sauce in a can. We ONLY use the best Hollandaise Sauce money can buy manufactured by a German Company. Had you complained to our staff, your Eggs Benedict would have been done over, if in fact it was a problem.
We consider ourselves experts in Eggs Bennedict and it's something we do very well, several hundred times a week. As a matter of fact, this week is Eggs Benedict week and we have 11 varieties to offer our customers.
Your other issue regarding bakery items leaves us puzzled as well since the items you mentioned were questionable and we don't remember having them here.
In any event, it always disturbs us when a customer doesn't let us know if a problem occurs and then runs to the internet to write a complain there. We would have been very happy to correct any situation you may have had and that's why after over 5 years in business, and over 112,000 meals served in our little 38 seat cafe, we are still in existence.......
Thank you and sorry for your disappoinment
Mr. Maggie / AKA Andrew Bochnar / Maggie's Husband
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's European Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing