We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish tacos”

The Golden Lion Cafe
Ranked #13 of 83 Restaurants in Flagler Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Flagler's Most Awarded Restaurant & Raw Bar since 1992. Fresh Seafood. Voted #1 Beach Bar on the East Coast of Florida 2015. Live music with Reggae Sundays. Lots of fun monthly Full Moon Parties with Limbo and a white sand dance floor. Second story Rooftop Dining overlooking the Ocean or downstairs under the Tropical Courtyard. Tiki Bar, Ocean Bar, Gift Shop & Raw Bar. Food Specialities English Style Fish n Chips, Fresh Catch Taco's, Lobster Rolls, Oysters, Crab, Shrimp, Seafood Towers, Daily Fresh Fish... Small Barrier Island of 4500, Surf Tournaments, Fishing off the Pier, Red Coquina Rock Beaches, Free Parking and Golf Cart friendly...7 Miles of Oceanview Heaven
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have been to The Golden Lion a few times and think their fresh catch of the day tacos are the best! Not only is this place super fun, friendly, relaxed and cool; it is also top of the list for delicious food. Attentive service. Great music. Sand dance floor. Fabulous food. Try the fish and shrimp dip...YUM! and the blue cheese potatoes...WOW! the best fresh salsa I've had in a long long time! Very cold beer, awesome bar, great view of the ocean. Come as you are and plan to stay a while; this place deserves a slow approach, time to take in the fun! Love it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sonia34576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at The Golden Lion Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for the review. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 669 of 971 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

Nice location ,Great serivce, Food is pretty good choose wisely.The serivce is second to none fun comfy beachfront location wow what a good time. Would arrive early.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cruiserttd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at The Golden Lion Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for the review and kind words. See you next time you stop by. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our family really enjoyed the open air seating, however the food was lacking in the enjoyment department. The service was lacking there of as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at The Golden Lion Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

So sorry that you didn't enjoy the food and thought service could have been better. Ask for me next time you come in, I' d love to meet you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Ate and drank here a few times whilst holidaying in Flagler. Good varied menu, service depended on who was on shift ...some were better than others. Enjoyed the live music which wasn't overly loud.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lulu-Pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at The Golden Lion Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. So glad you enjoyed it! Cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I visited the restaurant with my wife and our children twice during our stay in Cinnamon Beach in late July 2014. Both visits were great. We tried fish and chips, fish tacos, and mahi mahi sandwich. The food was very good. The french fries were amazing. The fish was tasty but I agree with other commentators who feel it was just a little soggy. The location and view were amazing. We had a fantastic view of the ocean, and felt the ocean breeze. Our servers were amazing both times. Overall a fantastic place to have a meal, particularly later in the day when it is cooler.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Waves18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at The Golden Lion Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We look forward to serving you again real soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Lion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing