We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual atmosphere”

The Golden Lion Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Flagler's Most Awarded Restaurant & Raw Bar since 1992. Fresh Seafood. Voted #1 Beach Bar on the East Coast of Florida 2015. Live music with Reggae Sundays. Lots of fun monthly Full Moon Parties with Limbo and a white sand dance floor. Second story Rooftop Dining overlooking the Ocean or downstairs under the Tropical Courtyard. Tiki Bar, Ocean Bar, Gift Shop & Raw Bar. Food Specialities English Style Fish n Chips, Fresh Catch Taco's, Lobster Rolls, Oysters, Crab, Shrimp, Seafood Towers, Daily Fresh Fish... Small Barrier Island of 4500, Surf Tournaments, Fishing off the Pier, Red Coquina Rock Beaches, Free Parking and Golf Cart friendly...7 Miles of Oceanview Heaven
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great casual atmosphere”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We were driving along A1A on a late Sunday afternoon looking for a local hangout for a bite as the day was ending. A crowded bar/restaurant always tells me the food is good and I was right on this one. Thought we would have to wait but pleasantly surprised how quickly we were seated at the open roof top portion of the restaurant. Full menu with appetizers to full course entrees with many fresh seafood options. Our waitress recommended the oysters that were on special so we ordered a dozen raw. All the condiments were immediately served. Our beer was cold, oysters were fresh and a nice size; good island band with panoramic ocean views. Service was prompt and table umbrella's provided adequate shading on the rooftop. Very family friendly. Extra parking on side street. Very very casual and extremely relaxing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    274
    113
    45
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Friendly staff, great food, music and dancing, large outdoor bar area. Outdoor deck seating as well as indoor seating. Raw bar was great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GailRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Golden Lion - Flagler Beach”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Golden Lion located on Flagler Beach is our 'go to' restaurant when we have out of town guests visit. The ambiance is "Classic Beach". Make sure you get a table on the upstairs deck as the views are spectacular. The drinks are cold and the staff is friendly, Unfortunately, the menu is just a little above the ordinary. Yes, it is "pub" type food but as a non-seafood eater I have found that the choices open to me are pretty bland. Perhaps a more balanced seafood/meat lovers menu would make more sense. This area abounds in beach deck restaurants. The Golden Lion needs to concentrate on what is coming out of the kitchen in order to make it a total 'beach bar' package!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twingfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Md
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, friendly staff, great food”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

4 of us had dinner and drinks out on the deck and it was a very good time. The food was delicious, plenty of options to choose from, waitress was friendly, prices fair and the band was an added bonus!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Bar Food”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very rustic 'Beach' atmosphere! Food definitely 'Bar' food. Nothing to rave about. Location is the best thing! Bathrooms were not clean, and when we told staff, we just received a 'deer in headlight' look. Live Music was different, and loud!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mags B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at The Golden Lion Cafe, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Lion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing