We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bread!!!!!!”

Barbara Jean's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Bread!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

All our food was good, but the pumpkin bread and sweet jalapeño cornbread were EXCELLENT!!! I think next trip I'll have a salad and extra basket of bread!!!!

Helpful?
Thank JBH4387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    156
    89
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Crab Cakes”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have gone here twice with friends in our short time on the island (recently moved here) and have enjoyed it both times.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Barbara Jean's is a family favorite.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Every time i have family in town, we have to stop at Barbara Jean's for crab cakes, she crab soup and I always order the vegetable plate.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Awesome breakfast selection. This was our first time eating at Barbara Jean's for breakfast and was not dissapointed. The selection and quality is just as good as their regular menu. Get the Chocolate Stuff!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marsha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Dora, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I wasn't too impressed with the food here. It was our last night on Amelia Island and I had a hard time deciding where to eat. I picked Barbara Jeans because of the diverse menu. We both had the seafood plate. Everything was fried, except the crab cake. The coconut shrimp were under cooked. The fish had way too much breading. The Crab Cake was cold. The best thing about the dinner was the sweet tea. I don't think I will return. The service was okay. It was just average on the food and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidihauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara Jean's Restaurant also viewed

Amelia Island, FL
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Barbara Jean's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing