We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad I gave it a second chance as it was great last night!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cucina South Italian Bistro

Cucina South Italian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Cucina South Italian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Glad I gave it a second chance as it was great last night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I went on opening night May 17 and were not very impressed wit the food or service but also know kinks have to be worked out. I promised I would give it another try and one of my sons's friends Logan works there and said come back and I promise everything will be great. And it was! She went over the top by asking the chef before we arrived what had onions in it because she knows I really dislike them. What service! There were four of us, all ladies, and we all loved what we had. The avocado citrus salad is a great light start, the complimentary olive tapenade is awesome, we had a tomato pizza, the special pasta dish of the night, the spaghetti and meatballs, and the mussel pasta. All were outstanding and the service by Logan was superb. Some great wines to go along with the food made for a perfect evening. I will be taking my husband back again soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaIslandLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    52
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was just ok --- not great for the prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We tried this new restaurant with a group of friends expecting it to be very good , but it was disappointing -- the atmosphere was lovely & the staff very good & the prices were seemed high.
The food was average, especially the pizza , which would be so simple to create. Several friends like their dishes, but did not think they were truly worth the prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank adriankelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great new Italian restaurant on Amelia Island!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Food is delicious. My husband and I had the halibut & the spaghetti with meatballs, which were both amazing! Real deal authentic meatballs. Service was very good & the red wine was perfect! Great addition to the island :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cucina South was awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have been to Cucina South twice now, once when they first opened and just a few weeks ago. Will gladly go back for a third or more times. Very impressed with the remodeling job, the food and the staff were awesome. The manager and Tim (I think that was his name) the owner both came by to check on us and make sure we were happy. We were!

I want to try the pizza next time!!!

I will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
315 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Pizza !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner with friends. Everyone ordered something different and it was all tasty. I ordered scallops on a bed of pasta. Loved the scallops a bit too salty on the outside delicious on the inside. Pasta was covered in a rich sauce a good compliment to the scallops.My husband ordered a
pizza and spaghetti with marinara sauce. The crust on the pizza was perfect and the pizza was flavorful. Absolutely recommend dining here for a nice eating experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pchee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina South Italian Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Cucina South Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing