We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening with friends - plus great food”
Review of 29 South Eats

29 South Eats
Reserve with OpenTable
29 South Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ash
Roswell
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening with friends - plus great food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This place is the perfect place for an evening with friends. We had a party of 14 sitting outside on the porch. Called ahead and they had the table ready and waiting. We covered the menu and there was no one disappointed. We even were fortunate enough to have their last peach pie and cinnamon ice cream dessert -- yum!! The biggest hits were the Tuscan Bean Soup, the Pork chops and Chicken. The grilled romaine salad was fabulous and a great starter - but definitely leave room for dessert. We will make it an annual event!

I noted someone had problems with mosquitos -- definitely might be a problem during summer months but in October it was blissful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlngator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    288
    108
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SouthGa
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find in Historic Fernandina Beach”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We happened on 29 South while wandering through historic downtown Fernandina Beach during a recent fall getaway and decided to have a small lunch of appetizers. So glad we did! Our choices were fresh and delicious, artistically prepared and presented, and the service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We loved the fried green tomato short-stack with goat cheese and a red bell pepper relish/marmalade, and the lobster corndog (a whole lobster tail dipped in cornmeal batter, deep fried and served with a vodka-infused cocktail sauce) was inventive and really delicious! The pulled pork eggrolls with slaw and sweet chili glaze were a wonderful twist on southern cuisine. We loved our experience here at lunch, and the dinner menu looked wonderful as well - great salads, inviting entrees, etc. Not inexpensive but well worth the price. We'll definitely be back on our next trip. A wonderful find!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

a once a week regular the menu never disappoints...often eclectic but just as often filled with gems...the service never disappoints either

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank md6236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful Quaint Cafe”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

29 South was the perfect spot for Sunday brunch. We sat outside and enjoyed the lovely weather. The food was fantastic. Everything was fresh and organic - the veggies were fresh from their garden! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice local cuisine”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently tried this restaurant and it was very good. I got the crusted bread appetizer, which was very good; the ingredients were very fresh and tasty. For the entree I tried the smoked duck salad, good gamey duck. Wanted to try the fried peach pie but they didn't have it so that was the only negative I have. The waiter we had was very polite as well. I would recommend trying this place, maybe sit outside and watch the sunset is best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackVettriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 South Eats also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to 29 South Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing