We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding sea food”
Review of 29 South Eats

29 South Eats
Reserve with OpenTable
29 South Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ash
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding sea food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

amazing crab cakes, fried green tomatoes, the entree was a white fish with a cream sauce...I wanted to lick my plate it was so good.
We also had the Coffee and Doughnuts and fried Peach desserts....so worth being stuffed for...loved that place. great location too

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mberke10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    286
    106
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
486 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a great time. Delicious food. Our group of 5 had: Fried Green Tomato Stack (best I've ever had), the Grilled Romaine Salad (very unique, and, again, delicious), Fried Shrimp and Grits, Pan Roasted Scallops, and the Chef's special (which was Mahi Mahi). Everybody raved about their entree. Our server was great, kept an eye on us and met our needs without hovering. The ambiance is lovely; cute decor; nice location. I would have loved to walk around the area, but we didn't have time. Definitely will go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food worth waiting for”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our server was terrific, friendly but not hovering. Food was great but a little slow. It wasn't a big deal because we weren't in a hurry and it was well worth the wait.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kb816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Farm to table excellence!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We were told this restaurant was a must if you loved fresh and creative. We did not have time to go for dinner but did lunch and it was mouth watering good!
Had fried green tomatoes for appetizer that were scrumptious and salads and sandwiches that were way above ordinary.
The service was fun and very attentive.
Can't wait to go back for dinner!
A must do!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dzignr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Outstanding shrimp and grits!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We always go to 29 South when we go to Amelia Island, we just love the place. The service is great (kudos on our last visit to Todd) and the food is even better. The chef is also the owner and he expects a great deal from his staff--and they deliver.

The problem for us is that we always seem to gravitate back to the same menu items, even though we say before we get ther we're going to try something different. We absolutely love the shrimp and grits and the pulled pork spring rolls. However, we did venture into the land of dessert this time and shared their coffee and doughnuts. All the food was amazing, as usual, and we asked ourselves why in the world we hadn't tried this dessert before. Not your typical c & d; this was a generous serving of a housemade bread pudding made with doughnut and custard, served warm and with a mocha ice cream.

The restaurant focuses on fresh and organic products grown at the restaurant and close by (even the local Boys and Girls Club!) and it shows in the food. We deeply admire the chef's attitude to support fellow businesses in the community. In fact, he also extends support to several charities when you purchase wine; one charity is the regional food bank and one (J Lohr), to my great joy, is to breast cancer research.

Needless to say, can't wait for the next visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deb224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 South Eats also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to 29 South Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing