We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

T-Rays Burger Station
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Last year was our first visit to Amelia Island and found T-Rays through Yelp. It instantly became one of our favorites. It's an old gas station turned burger place. They spiffed up the interior this year but you can still eat outside right next to the old gas pumps. The food is reasonably priced and good. Unless you know the exact address you probably won't find it. There are no signs advertising T-Ray's but there is usually a long line waiting to order.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    110
    31
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place is amazing! It was a little crowded at lunch rush hour for parking and space, but the food was incredible. My family ate the burgers and fries combos (approx $7.50) and the fried shrimp dinner with grits and fries ($12.95). Everything was excellent. The shrimp were outa this world. They were fresh, large, full half pound, and perfectly battered there in the kitchen of course. We are always in search of the perfect place, we found it here, go and see for yourself!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melissa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton
Level Contributor
180 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Fried Shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a favorite local place built within a old Exxon service station owned by the dad. They quit selling gas and oil and went into the burger business with oil of a different kind frying up lots of good treats. You don't have to eat fried though with available extensive breakfast and lunch menu. We have been several times for lunch, quickly greeted by the dad, Mr Mullis. My favorite is on Fridays when fresh Fernandina shrimp are the special. Burgers are popular and my wife usually gets a piece of fish. It's busy, crowded, greasy, but a good calorie splurge ever so often. They have recently renovated with more space and better glow and seating. Be prepared to see a long line for walk up ordering, or you can call ahead for take out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelTifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“BEST BURGER IN TOWN!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I love food. My husband and I consider ourselves foodies. We also lover burgers. We have eaten lots of burgers and T-Ray's is an amazing place to grab a burger. It's a local favorite and you can tell because there are NO SIGNS!!! None. Zilch. So you may have to wander into anothe rburger joint to ask where it is. lol Totally worth it though. We got there in the middle of their switch from breakfast ot lunch so it took a long time to ge tour food but was totally worth the wait. I'd go back again and again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaseyhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local dive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want to go local, this is the place. It used to be a gas station, now converted into a small place to eat. Burgers are good, but I heard from the locals they have the best fried chicken on Wednesdays. I showed up with my mouth watering and found that the people in the know put their order in a day in advance and by the time I got there at lunch time they were all sold out. You have to look past worn old tables and chairs and a little dirt. Still waiting to get the fried chicken.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Mae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T-Rays Burger Station also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to T-Rays Burger Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing