We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations for a great price.”
Review of Beachside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachside Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Beachside is a little older motel right on the ocean. Its impeccably clean, seems to be newly updated, and the staff is so very nice and accommodating. This is our second visit to this hotel and on both occasions it was an enjoyable stay. We were pleasantly surprised to see that it is also pet friendly so we will definitely be back. If your looking for something fancy, this is probably not the place, but if you are ok with comfortable beds, a clean and spacious room with a flat screen tv with close proximity to the ocean, then it's for you. You can not beat the price either, very much a great value for what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 350 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

The place is remarkably clean--especially for being on the beach; the people are about as friendly as can be--everyone went out of their way to greet us; the location is ideal--right on the beach and only a few miles South of Fernandina; and relatively well appointed--comfortable double-sheeted beds w/ lots of big, fat, fluffy pillows (4/bed) and thick 100% cotton towels; and plenty of coffee in the lobby w/ pastries & fruit in the a.m. and cheese & crackers in the afternoon; and spacious rooms.
It is on the beach but being only two stories and w/ the height of the sand dunes you can see the ocean but not the beach--at least fr/ the first floor. The four ocean-facing rooms have small kitchens. It is an older property and the walls are not the thickest but we could only hear loud noises fr/ other rooms but lots of outside noise as the door was not real soundproof.
If the kitchens were better stocked (no cutting board or real knives, the roasting pan did not fit into the oven, no microwave) and the price was a tad lower (it was not unreasonable but could have been less) I would have gone w/ an excellent rating. If we are in the area we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Better views upstairs; four end rooms (ocean facing) have kitchens but if you plan to do any real co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tencatdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Has been newly remodeled. Clean and found that it is the only motel on the beach. Has a nice pool and service is great. Close to a lot of activities and close to town. Our room had an ocean view with beach access.

Room Tip: Only two floors. Quiet and rooms close to the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binker2439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We prefer "mom and pop" establishments, this one did not disappoint! We had an efficiency on the second floor, which gave a nice view of the ocean. The room was spotless, the shower was great, and the staff very helpful and friendly!
The location was great. A short drive to downtown, state parks at the north and south ends of the island (again short drives), and only 45 minutes to the Cumberland Island ferry.
We made a return reservation for next year when we checked out.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have a better view of the ocean (above the level of the dunes).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay on Amelia Island so we could attend our friends wedding there. We were surprised to find a place right on the ocean within our small budget. The motel's website said all rooms were booked for the nights we needed, but I decided to call the office just in case anyone had cancelled. They turned out to have several rooms available -- so don't rely on the website's booking tool -- call them personally. The staff was incredibly kind and accommodating. Our room was a standard motel efficiency - two clean queen beds, a small kitchenette with dorm fridge and microwave, flat screen tv, clean bathroom with toiletries. We didn't stay in one of the two ocean-front view rooms, but the side view still offered a really nice view of the Atlantic. We didn't use the pool, but it looked really nice and clean. If we come back to Amelia, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alyssaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our family had a family reunion here. The rooms were all exceptionally clean. All employees were very accomadating and friendly. It was nice to have a large beautiful pool on site and also be on the ocean front with nice beach. This property if a great asset to Fernandina Beach and Amelia Island in northeast Florida.

Room Tip: We had rooms scattered around motel and had no complaints from family members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place on the beach and this motel was perfect. We had an efficiency (with frig and microwave), the room was very clean and smelled fresh the whole time we were there. The office and the surroundings were also very clean, the coffee and breakfast pastries very fresh. The staff was very polite and informative. The location was perfect for discovery trips to the Historic District and for finding all types of restaurant fare. And to see the sunrise from our room was beautiful.

Room Tip: If you want a frig/microwave, book an efficiency. When we were there, it didn't cost any more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
3.2 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
729 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,483 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
418 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Motel

Address: 3172 S Fletcher Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2397
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $105 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Renovated! The Beachside Motel is Amelia Island's only oceanfront motel and is locally owned and operated. Designed with your comfort in mind, our tastefully decorated rooms all have Flatscreen TV, telephones and free wifi. Fridges are found in our Classic Rooms; Microwave,Fridge, and sink/kitchen prep area in our Efficiency Rooms and fully equipped kitchenettes with Stove, Fridge and complete kitchen available for guests who prefer a more homestyle atmosphere are found in our Oceanfront Kitchen Suite Rooms. Begin each day with complimentary coffee and yummies in our lobby. Swim or sun around our full-size oceanfront pool which is just steps from the beach. Just minutes from the island's charming historic town of Fernandina Beach, the public golf course, and Ft. Clinch State Park and across the street from one of the local's favorite restaurants, The Surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Fernandina Beach
Beachside Motel Fernandina Beach
Beachside Motel Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing