We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Beachside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachside Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
fanwood, nj
Level Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

On the beach and in the middle of the island. Old school motel with lots of trucks in the parking lot. Very convient to everything. Staff very friendly. Efficiency room larger than expected. I imagine the rooms on the second floor are quieter than the first floor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    105
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
104
137
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were looking for a simple place to stay with our family for a short trip to the beach with no deposits or cleaning fees. The staff was friendly and our room was clean. The motel is old, and could use some updating, but it served the purpose that we needed. Our bed was comfortable and our room did not smell. We practically had the whole place to ourselves, but don't expect any complimentary upgrades. The pool looked nice and the beach was great. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Basic, on the water, great service. Nothing fancy, but everything worked. Arrived in the middle of the night. Manager left room door open for me so I could register the next morning. Ample parking. Swimming pool. Coffee maker, ironing board, iron, shampoo, soap, etc. in the room. Wish I had steyed longer, but business plans took me elsewhere. Great local dining recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I loved this place and I will go back. VERY VERY clean. We had a kitchenett on front of building facing water. Woke to gorgeous sunrise each morning. I mean ya couldnt see maybe the sandy beach but OCEAN VIEW, FANTASTIC! I mean water every where. Path to beach great and I am handicapped and have to use hiking stick. Kitchen was great with all things we needed. STAFF was more than helpful especially first night Jean helped me with maps and such, thanks Jean. Talked with manager she was very nice too. ALL IN all I will be back next DEC. LOVED IT....no complaitns here. We stayed 3 days and had to leave early and was refunded the last day (day 4) we couldnt stay with no problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Friendly staff, simple and clean rooms. Sand walk way right to the beautiful beach ! They have a nice pool, but it was a little chilly for swimming at the end of November. Price is right for a simple place to stay right on the beach, and not a far drive to the quaint down town, with shopping and nice restaurants. Of course, we are happy there is a nice eating establishment right across the street. Great beach for walks and sea shell searching ! If you decide to try this motel, don't expect anything fancy-but you will be quite comfortable.

Room Tip: We like to stay upstairs, a little more private and quiet. Next time we will request the upstairs b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA FE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days recently, and that included Thanksgiving. The office was closed on Thanksgiving, but they ensured we were taken care of; extra towels, a list of restaurants open on Thanksgiving day, and a special pumpkin spice-cake, extra in room coffee, etc. Desk staff very friendly and helpful. Beach access excellent; nice pool, but not heated, so a little too cold to swim in. Good view from our room.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, away from roadway; good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobL190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This 2-story motel is tucked sideways, perpendicular to the beach and has ready access to the beach just past the pool area. Hard to spot when you're coming down A1-A.

I was surprised upon arrival that we were expected to pay the bill in full upfront. That was a turnoff and an unusual request being frequent travelers that we are.

The motel and grounds are not well maintained. There are roof leaks and subsequent water damage visible. The concrete stairs are blackened with dirt. Windows are dirty outside.

There are rusty door hinges and the door lock in the room we had was broken and hard to lock. Walls are dated looking.

The water heater broke and the whole building was without hot water for an entire day.
The next day a pipe broke and flooded out a room that people were staying in.

The rooms are nice sized no matter which type you select to stay in. And they are kept clean by housekeepers who leave you with a good supply of towels, shampoo, soaps, etc each day.
The tv is tiny but does get good reception and has a vast selection of cable channels. Wireless internet connection was very good. Low lighting in the room using compact florescents makes it hard to read. Would be better with brighter bulbs and give a warmer feel to the room. The windows are not the opening type so if you want fresh air you'll have to leave the door open. The air conditioner runs smoothly. But the heater needed a good cleaning and filter change.

The breakfast was little apples (nicely individually wrapped in clear wrap with a ribbon!) and some individually packaged cakes and hot beverages. Nothing more but there really isn't space in the lobby for a bigger spread and there aren't any tables. It is meant to take back to your room or outside.

Despite the above mentioned issues we had a really good time on the Island during our stay. The beaches are beautiful, sunrises are great, and the historic part of town is fun. Good variety of restaurants too. Fort Clinch is open to the public too and is an attraction worth going to if you like history or nature or fishing on the half-mile long pier. There is an entrance fee.

We would likely visit again but do hope that the owners of this property invest in maintenance and the sorely needed upkeep and repairs as it does have so much potential.

Room Tip: Only the suites face the ocean directly. All others face the parking lot but have a sideways small v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Goose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
3.2 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
389 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,435 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Motel

Property: Beachside Motel
Address: 3172 S Fletcher Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2397
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Renovated! The Beachside Motel is Amelia Island's only oceanfront motel and is locally owned and operated. Designed with your comfort in mind, our tastefully decorated rooms all have Flatscreen TV, telephones and free wifi. Fridges are found in our Classic Rooms; Microwave,Fridge, and sink/kitchen prep area in our Efficiency Rooms and fully equipped kitchenettes with Stove, Fridge and complete kitchen available for guests who prefer a more homestyle atmosphere are found in our Oceanfront Kitchen Suite Rooms. Begin each day with complimentary coffee and yummies in our lobby. Swim or sun around our full-size oceanfront pool which is just steps from the beach. Just minutes from the island's charming historic town of Fernandina Beach, the public golf course, and Ft. Clinch State Park and across the street from one of the local's favorite restaurants, The Surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Fernandina Beach
Beachside Motel Fernandina Beach
Beachside Motel Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing