We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly visit to area..”
Review of Beachside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachside Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We loved staying at the Beachside Motel, and immediately booked for next year to stay here again (since we are in the area each year). It's simple, not very fancy, but clean and friendly, right on the beach, not loud, not crowded. The pool was nice too. Great mattresses (and again, loved the 'quiet' during the night!), and little kitchenette with everything we needed. Good value for the price.

Room Tip: All rooms are somewhat ocean view, only 4 actually face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiekeRigters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 350 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

The room was not quite what I expected for a kitchen "suite" but it was a very pleasant stay. Needs a little upkeep here and there but for a competitive price was very well worth it. If you get a kitchen suite, expect a small stove and dorm sized refrigerator with a siink. About a square foot of counter space makes it very difficult to prepare a meal. My biggest disappointment was, no microwave! Breakfas provided includes coffee and your choice of an apple or sweets--some little debbie snack cakes.
However, my wife and I took our 2 1/2 year old son there for his first trip to the beach. We were mere steps to the pool, and a very short walk (maybe 40 yards) to the beach. Accessibility was GREAT and my son had a wonderful time at the ocean. Pool very clean, although we only got in it once. The beach is as good as you'll find outside the gulf. Lots of shells to pick up and not very crowded. This location boasts as the only hotel on the beach, but there are a ton of condos. I will check into them for our next visit, but I doubt they will be as reasonably priced. We had a wonderful visit to the island and will be back. I would stay here again, as the staff were very friendly, it is not an overgrown vacation spot, and the beach is very nice. If you can book this room for $150/night or less during peak time, it's fine. If not, I'd shop around. Nothing really exceptional about it but the location is GREAT. My biggest problem--booking a room and paying extra to cook and save some $ by eating in, and the tiny kitchen was a disappointment and NO MICROWAVE. But we had a very good stay. Rooms are dated but clean. I gave it a "very good" based on the proximity to the ocean and the fact it's clean and not as expensive as other properties. If you're used to staying in a true "suite" or at a super nice place, this probably isn't for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1012brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I loved staying at the Beachside Motel! They have a great pool for your kids and great beach access.It is also the only beachfront motel in Fernandina Beach. Don't expect a big breakfast buffet. They offer breakfast but it's small and the food is atrocious. But the Beachside Motel is a great choice is your traveling to Fernandina Beach

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the end have an ocean vie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tacolover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Beachside and I have to say it was just what we needed. The staff just really goes the extra mile to accommodate. Our room was clean with plenty of towels and it had a great little kitchen with a small fridge, sink, and small oven with stovetop. Its a little dated, but clean. Reminds me of places we used to stay when I was young, you actually talk to your neighbors! We had the oceanfront room (there are only four) and the sun coming up in the morning was beautiful even through the smoke from the fires in GA. The pool is sparkling clean, just like the photo. The beach just a few steps from our door. It was blissful! We will come back soon! Oh and The Surf restaurant is right across the street. No re-parking!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starbucks43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Older hotel but well kept and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful in suggesting good places to eat. Great pool & great views of the beautiful beach. Was a litte hard getting to the beach because there is only a small piece of wooden walkway, the rest of the way is only sand. I have joint trouble especially with my legs so a solid walkway would be a great addition.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLove99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is a great little "mom and pop" type place that is located directly on the beach. A throwback to an earlier era, this is the most relaxing stress-free place to stay that one can imagine. Our room was clean and comfortable, the shower was hot, the towels were fluffy. What a treat it was to sit outside our room and watch the sun come up over the ocean while we drank our coffee. We didn't use the pool while we were there but it appeared to be clean and well-maintained as well. The only thing we would change is that it would have been nice to have had a refrigerator in the room. There isn't any place within walking distance to get breakfast and the pastries in the lobby left something to be desired. All things considered though, this is now our new favorite place and we can't wait to go back. The perfect place to unwind and relax!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pja727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

It is very celan, and the area here was so relaxing and very quiet. Nice Pool area with sun and shade areas. the hotel was very quiet. No issues with any other guests. Go across the street to Surf, they have good food and DJs in the evenings.
I would have only wished for a refrig, small one in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razz1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
3.2 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
729 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,483 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
418 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Motel

Address: 3172 S Fletcher Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2397
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $105 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Renovated! The Beachside Motel is Amelia Island's only oceanfront motel and is locally owned and operated. Designed with your comfort in mind, our tastefully decorated rooms all have Flatscreen TV, telephones and free wifi. Fridges are found in our Classic Rooms; Microwave,Fridge, and sink/kitchen prep area in our Efficiency Rooms and fully equipped kitchenettes with Stove, Fridge and complete kitchen available for guests who prefer a more homestyle atmosphere are found in our Oceanfront Kitchen Suite Rooms. Begin each day with complimentary coffee and yummies in our lobby. Swim or sun around our full-size oceanfront pool which is just steps from the beach. Just minutes from the island's charming historic town of Fernandina Beach, the public golf course, and Ft. Clinch State Park and across the street from one of the local's favorite restaurants, The Surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Fernandina Beach
Beachside Motel Fernandina Beach
Beachside Motel Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing