We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable room and a great beach experience”
Review of Beachside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachside Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Older motel but well maintained and clean. Large pool. Good ocean views with beautiful sunrise. Very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quick_dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 342 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

We have stayed here several times now and love the location and their simple "effeciencies".....but the place is wearing down and needs some maintenance. We like the place and hope they put a few bucks into the place before it gets away from them.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The best features of the Beachside Motel are its beachfront location, on a white sand beach; its large, clean, and well-kept pool; the cleanliness of the rooms; free parking; and friendliness of the office staff. It's true that the motel looks like a throw-back to the 1970s, but everything is well maintained. Don't expect amenities -- there are none. Bring your own beach towels, as the motel doesn't have beach towels; but if you didn't bring any, they don't mind if you use the bath towels at the pool and beach, and will even offer to bring you extra bath towels. The ladies in the office always had a smile, and would help with directions and suggestions for dining. So, if you are looking for a quiet, clean place to relax and enjoy the natural beauty of Amelia Island, at a terrific price, the Beachside Motel is for you. If you insist on the amenities of a luxury hotel, you're better off staying elsewhere. Incidentally, Amelia Island is a quiet, uncrowded beach destination, perfect for urbanites looking to get away from the noise and hustle of city life; but as there is no night life to speak of, it is not a desirable destination for the party crowd. Children would probably also get easily bored. Lastly, Fernandina Beach has a surprisingly diverse selection of fine restaurants, though some, such as LeClos, are expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The Beachside was the perfect place for us- close enough to historic & downtown, but on the beach and uncrowded. Check-in and -out was seamless, and they were very helpful in recommending dining and "must-sees". The pool was clean, and had covered tables- perfect for having a leasure breakfast with a view of the beach. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vermifuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Very clean, older no frills motel. Nothing fancy but a nice, quiet relaxing atmosphere. Motel is beachside with ocean front pool. Felt very safe as a solo traveler and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjmdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We loved Beachside Motel. The rooms are not luxurious but adequate and at the best prices on the beach. The location is perfect and I just made reservations for the whole family to return on Labor Day weekend. We found Amelia Island and Fernandina rich with history and nature. Don't miss the boat excursion around Cumberland Island. Bring your coffee pot, some extra towels, your own breakfast stuff and have a ball at Amelia!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank michaelchisolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

This hotel is right on the beach and there is not much to choose from in this $150 price range in this area. Do not expect much from the room or breakfast. It was somewhat clean considering what the maids had to work with, but very outdated and the breakfast does not offer juice or milk or anything other than some sweets and coffee. I do not fault the motel for this, but if you are a non-smoker just know that there are ashtrays everywhere and everyone smoked right outside their room. We could not get any extra towels so bring some extra of your own. The pool was clean and the staff was friendly. There was just not enough in Amelia Island to do so we left after one night. Amelia Island is a good place for relaxing and doing NOTHING.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTechMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
3.2 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
703 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,470 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,560 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Motel

Address: 3172 S Fletcher Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2397
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $100 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Renovated! The Beachside Motel is Amelia Island's only oceanfront motel and is locally owned and operated. Designed with your comfort in mind, our tastefully decorated rooms all have Flatscreen TV, telephones and free wifi. Fridges are found in our Classic Rooms; Microwave,Fridge, and sink/kitchen prep area in our Efficiency Rooms and fully equipped kitchenettes with Stove, Fridge and complete kitchen available for guests who prefer a more homestyle atmosphere are found in our Oceanfront Kitchen Suite Rooms. Begin each day with complimentary coffee and yummies in our lobby. Swim or sun around our full-size oceanfront pool which is just steps from the beach. Just minutes from the island's charming historic town of Fernandina Beach, the public golf course, and Ft. Clinch State Park and across the street from one of the local's favorite restaurants, The Surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Beachside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Fernandina Beach
Beachside Motel Fernandina Beach
Beachside Motel Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing