We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steps from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here and we were both very satisfied with this particular Comfort inn. As a member of the Choice hotels rewards club, I do try and stay at one of their hotels whenever we travel. I prefer their Comfort Inns over some of their other properties and this hotel was a good value. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, a decent breakfast with very good coffee and access to the wonderful beach. We were lucky that although it was February, the temperatures were moderate and we could take the proverbial long walk on the beach. Also, the hotel was near the historic downtown area and that was a plus. Renovations had just been completed so we were happy that we didn't need to put up with the noise and dirt that one normally encounters when they visit a hotel that is being renovated. In any event, I would recommend this property for travelers especially during the off season when rates are low.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goombahjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 401 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Although it is positive when a hotel undergoes renovation, it is not fair or acceptable to guests to endure the dust, dirt, disruption, and danger when workers are working in and around the rooms, corridors, and lobbies.

We booked five nights in February for an escape to this lovely corner of northern Florida. We wanted an ocean view room on an upper floor and paid an extra price for the view (unfortunately, a large dumpster was the first in our sight when we looked out the window). On arriving (after traveling over 200 miles), we were greeted with the noise and disruption of workers - and a sign at the desk about the renovations. Why did we have to learn about renovations upon arrival? Perhaps we would have made a different choice.

We were assigned a room on the second floor (because the third floor was "closed" due to the renovations) and saw the dumpster, so we ask for another room and were given one two doors further down the corridor (a little less of the dumpster view). The room was clean and comfortable. Later in the evening, we noticed that the ceiling in the shower was collapsing and there was debris in the tub - as well, the sink drained very slowly.

The next morning we alerted the front desk clerk and were told "we'll get that fixed right away." (When we left five mornings later, the ceiling had not been touched, nor had the sink been snaked.)

The most disturbing aspect of this stay, however, was the noise, dirt, and danger associated with the replacement of the tiles in the corridors, elevator, and lobby. The workers were constantly working around the elevator, with their equipment, fans, and cords draped dangerously across the floors and corridors. The dust and dirt permeated the area - and the carpet in the corridors got progressively soiled during the week (from guests tracking). At times, the noise was so loud that we couldn't talk to each other in the lobby area while we were working on our computer.

The frosting on the cake was one evening when we returned after dinner to find that the elevator was "out of service" because of the tiling. We are active seniors and took the stairs, but were concerned about others who might not be able to climb stairs.

We wanted a quiet peaceful, relaxing escape - and encountered a noisy, dusty, and dangerous situation. When we checked out we expressed our dismay to the desk clerk, who advised us to call the owners on Monday.

In three conversations with the owner, he was pleasant, but condescending - and pointed out that we had received a "senior" discount for the room (which is completely irrelevant to this situation). He offered us a 10% discount/rebate for our inconvenience - we feel that we experienced more than 10% inconvenience, but he will not bend from his stance.

When we questioned why he remained open during the renovation, he told us how nice the hotel would been when it is finished - we will never see it!!

He also told us that the front desk clerk that checked us in and assigned the second room told us that the room had a problem (the collapsing ceiling), which is not the case - we did NOT know about the ceiling - and wondered why she told us that they would "fix it right away" IF she had, in fact, told us about it at check in.

The bottom line is that although the owner says he cares about guest satisfaction, we cannot believe that is little more than paying lip service and the "party line." Avoid this hotel and the attitude of putting guest comfort and security at the bottom of the service ladder.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FloridaRetiree2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, General Manager at Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

I apologize for all the inconveniences you have described in your review.

I am happy to say that all the tile work in the public space has been complete. We do focus on guest safety and security. I am happy to say that there have been no injuries during the tile work thus far.

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava - General Manager
Comfort Suites Oceanview, Amelia Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We visited on a winter weekend, so no crowds, mostly older folks like us escaping the cold. The hotel is easy to find in this old-timey beach town of Fernandina. It is just across from the main beach, near the entrance to the Fort Clinch State Park. It was a great location for us and if we were traveling with our grandkids, they would love it as well for the proximity to the beach, the park and a skateboard park just behind the hotel. The hotel is being renovated, new flooring and major changes in the lobby / breakfast area. Eveyone in the staff was helpful in a friendly but low key way. The small parking lot surrounds the hotel and it is easy to keep an eye on your car, but parking would probably be an issue in the busy season. The room was very pleasant with a good size sofa area, two queen beds and a desk, two chairs, a closet and a microwave and mini-fridge. A large bathroom with good water temp and pressure. A large flat screen tv, of course, and a great wireless internet, easiest ever to connect. The beds were the most comfortable in recent memory! Breakfast was quite good with 2 sorts of eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, bagels and breads, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices and coffee of the best sort (sometimes it tastes like water.). We have stayed in several other I-95 chain hotels this trip and the cleanliness and breakfasts were no where near this quality. We will stay here anytime we get the chance and will stay again in a month on our way back north. (If we have to go home, that is.) Thank you, Comfort Suites - Amelia Island.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was a good location, for our group. Very clean, very comfortable bed, good breakfast selection. Good coffee, at all times in loby. Friendly and helpful staff. We were on the 3rd floor and had a great view overlooking scrub palms and other FL plants. Good sunset and sunrise.
We were there during cool weather our room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor. Elevator. Very quite. Good view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Check in was quick and easy. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel is just off the beach and there is a building partially blocking your view of the ocean, but you can see a lot of ocean. You can easily walk to the beach. There is a convenience store right next to the motel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side of the building if you want to see the ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yodibuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel was nice. Clean room and bathroom. Good morning breakfast. The only problem we had was the water temperature. It never got above luke warm. Maybe because it was a chilly weekend? All I know is I would have loved a HOT shower after the half marathon. But all in all, a great place to stay. Perfect location. Right by the beach and the state park.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Amp604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night after a football game. The hotel is very convenient to the beach and only a couple of miles from the historic downtown.

The hotel was good for a nights stay. The staff were courteous and the breakfast wasn't bad. The rooms were clean and decent size. Not a luxury hotel, but well worth the price.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank SD6z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
661 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,429 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
880 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island

Address: 2801 Atlantic Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $92 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is 100% non-smoking with all-suite rooms. All rooms offer a seating area with sofa-sleeper, microwave/fridge, free hot breakfast, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and free wi-fi. Our hotel is located steps away from main beach and only 1 mile from historic downtown Fernandina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Comfort Suites Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing