We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but inconsistent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, but inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Would echo many of the other comments - great location, plenty of space in the rooms, some carpets need cleaning, and the woman who manages the breakfast buffet is incredible.

We found staff, however, to be inconsistent. We were checked in by a young lady who was not remotely friendly, and in fact rather rude. (Interestingly, we did not see her at the hotel the rest of the trip but did see her being rude to another customer at her second job at Dairy Queen). The two other front desk staff we interacted with were fantastic. They were very knowledgeable about the area and always willing to give recommendations.

We also has some issues with housekeeping. On one day they never came at all, and on other days only half of the room was cleaned (one bed made but not the other).

Overall I would return to this hotel because of location and price, and would hope to get more consistent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gberns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    139
    58
    30
    19
See reviews for
117
153
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel was just what we were looking for when spending a weekend in Fernandina Beach. The location was close to all the areas we were visiting - beach, Ft. Clinch (right next door!), downtown Centre Street, and the marina. Our King room was very spacious and clean and included a microwave and refrigerator. The on-line rate was terrific for the location and size of room.

With the good, comes the bad. I've never stayed at a hotel where there is no air circulating in the halls. This hotel has one vent in the long hallway and therefore it was dreadfully hot when walking from the elevator to our room. After coming in from a full day in the sun you want to feel the cold A/C right away - the lobby area was cool, but step off the elevator to your floor and there is a sharp rise in temperature. Maybe things were better on the lower floor, but the 3rd floor was like a sweatbox in the hallway.

One other issue was the parking lot. It is quite small, so coming back later in the evening posed problems with finding a space. Something to be aware of since there is no alternate parking close by.

Overall, hotel was fine and I would stay again due to the location, but there are some areas they could improve upon to make the guests more comfortable.

Room Tip: 3rd floor west rooms have views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adro08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
243 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

A very friendly reception, not far from the beach. A quiet spot nice good breakfast, reasonable room rate.Only negative is carpet required some cleaning maintenance.As noted the carpet in the rooms require some cleaning, otherwise room and bath very clean.

Room Tip: Senior rates available, pick up the hotel book on 95 for savings coupons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, Ca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful experience we had at thus hotel. Everything was top notch. We were expecting an average good hotel and this was well better than that. The first impression was the staff. Each individual was cordial and helpful. We found this to be true when the TV in our first room was not operating. The young lady at the desk tried first to help us fix it and when that failed she changed our room. All this on her own initiative. The room was quite, clean and well supplied. The breakfast was excellent!! The woman who was in charge of it was very nice and seemed to love her job. The location is excellent, just across from the beach. We declared this a real find.

Room Tip: get a king suite with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last summer and it was great. Comfortable and clean. Steps away from the beach and I love that the hotel provides you with beach necessities. Having traveled by plane from the northeast, you can't bring umbrellas, chairs, and boogie boards and having them provided was a nice touch. The staff was friendly and recommended several places for dining. You will love this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LKN2
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Sorry to see someone having issues with the hotel. Our stay was great ! We arrived late and had a great room waiting for us. The room was very clean and beds comfortable. WiFi was a little weak, but worked.

Lobby was clean and the breakfast was nice on a Saturday morning. The beach was a block away and provided a beautiful sunrise.

As to local restaurants, they are scattered all over the island so use a local map to find one to suit your taste. As we were just traveling through we didn't get the chance, but plan to come back and tour the historic downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Let me start off by saying we were greeted by the nastiest front desk manager and throughout our stay, no one was any better (with the exception of one gentleman who worked in the afternoon). The roomed smelled funny and our request for 2 queen beds was completely ignored. While the hotel is located on the beach, all restaurants and shops are at least a mile away. I'm so happy we only booked this room for one night before moving to the Hampton Inn on the other side of the island!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nycjetsetter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#11 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island

Property: Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Address: 2801 Atlantic Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is 100% non-smoking with all-suite rooms. All rooms offer a seating area with sofa-sleeper, microwave/fridge, free hot breakfast, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and free wi-fi. Our hotel is located steps away from main beach and only 1 mile from historic downtown Fernandina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Comfort Suites Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing