We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is awesome!”

Maritime Museum of Amelia Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Dripping with history, our museum displays and preserves the maritime history of Amelia Island. Walk a timeline that takes you from current days all the way back to the 1600's and the days of pirates! Artifacts and sunken treasure from the area are on display. Fun for the whole Family! ADA Accessible!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I went to all the museums on the Island and this museum actually has authentic artifacts. They gave you guided tours, and there was no charge.
That is always a plus. The other maritime museum sucked. The museum of history was nice, but it did not have many displays. No tours given and most things were just reading.

5  Thank mylostparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeMuseum A, Manager at Maritime Museum of Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Thank you So Much. Please Come back and see us. Please come back and see us.. Thanks Billy Taylor , Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 90 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

From the street, this small exhibit looks a little bit like the poor cousin to the main Amelia Island Museum in town. However, I recommend that you take the time to stop in and look around, as they do some incredible things with the resources at hand. About 8-10 rooms are filled with interesting artifacts of the various sea services, and the volunteers who staff the place are passionate about their work. In addition to the museum itself, they are also involved in working on various treasure wrecks, discovering their secrets and obtaining additional displays for the museum.

While this facility does not charge an admission fee, they do readily accept contributions, which go towards furthering their own building and exhibits. They are a great bunch of folks doing fantastic work, and I highly recommend anyone with an interest in the sea to stop by.

3  Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeMuseum A, Manager at Maritime Museum of Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Thank you So Much. Please Come back and see us. Please come back and see us.. Thanks Billy Taylor , Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stopped in the Maritime Museum based on a review we read here on trip advisor. WOW!! We loved it, the guys at the museum were more than happy to give us a personal history lesson on the ship wrecks lost and found as well as the treasure they have been researching and excavating for years. The treasures found are amazing and there is more to come with their up and coming reality show to be aired next June/July. Our kids loved it so much they made us go back to get their picture taken with the guys. A must see if visiting the Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach area.

3  Thank Girlybrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeMuseum A, Manager at Maritime Museum of Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Thank you So Much. Please Come back and see us. Please come back and see us.. Thanks Billy Taylor , Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had never met individuals who have discovered treasure and items from the past. It was cool to see all the different discoveries and treasures. The guy there with the toy dog led us around each room. He was very nice and we could tell that he was passionate about his work. I'm happy we were able to visit before the T.V. show comes out. I wish them luck on their future!

4  Thank Juanita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeMuseum A, Manager at Maritime Museum of Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Thank you So Much. Please Come back and see us. Please come back and see us.. Thanks Billy Taylor , Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Very interesting information to learn about the island. The price includes the History Museum. You can go to the top of the Lighthouse.

2  Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeMuseum A, Manager at Maritime Museum of Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Thank you So Much. Please Come back and see us. Please come back and see us.. Thanks Billy Taylor , Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maritime Museum of Amelia Island also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Maritime Museum of Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing