We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crab Trap

The Crab Trap
Price range: $7 - $45
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family-owned and operated since 1979! Please visit our website to see our full menu and more information!Casual dining in an eclectic, nautical atmosphere with friendly staff and a variety of tasty choices.Lunch AND Dinner served 7 days a week starting at 11:00am and 5:00pm. Serving fresh local seafood: blackened, broiled, grilled or fried; also chicken, steaks, and raw oysters year-round. A Kid's Menu with plenty of choices. And NOW featuring a "Smaller Catch" Menu for those looking for a lighter meal!Beer, wine, cocktails at TWO Full Bars...be sure to visit the upstairs Sunset Bar with views of the Fernandina Beach Marina while you're here!Reservations not required, but call-aheads for parties of 10 or more are greatly appreciated.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had crab legs and mine was fine, but my family hated their meals...bbq shrimp were a joke!!!! the fries are the strangest thing ive ever seen..a real heavy batter and the oil they were cooked is in gross...the raw oysters were ok, but too big....service was just OK...would never go bk here...was almost $200 for 4 people, and that was with 2 beers, 3 soft drinks, 1 oyster order, and 4 meals.... no thk you

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 99beachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab T, Public Relations Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're sorry that the meal didn't completely meet your expectations. We strive to provide the best quality fresh seafood and steaks to all of our customers. And the battered french fries take some getting used to. We hope you'll join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    217
    162
    87
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The staff was very friendly and attentive, but the food was just ok. The restaurant had a sports bar feel. This is ok for lunch but I'd say skip if you are wanting a nice dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveller20011983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab T, Public Relations Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the meal and hope that you'll dine with us again in the future. Our lunch menu features many items not found on the dinner menu, so be sure to give it a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience , good food and service in a casual local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Two of us enjoyed a leisurely Sunday lunch here. We were planning to order local seafood but could not resist their special of two Maine lobster tails each for $20.00. They were fresh, well cooked and delicious!
The local atmosphere was fun and the service was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravlinShoes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab T, Public Relations Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for the kind words! We're so glad that you were able to take advantage of our Sunday Lobster Tail Special. It's definitely been a hit with the locals and visitors. Come back anytime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More than just seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

In a small island town, it was hard to find local restaurants offering anything besides seafood for dinner. The Crab Trap was the exception. In addition to a variety of seafood dishes (no crab cakes), they also offered chicken fingers (fried, grilled, or blackened) and steak for non-seafood lovers. The local shrimp was fresh and delicious. These, like most menu options, also comes with the option of being fried, grilled or blackened.
Skip the battered fries (strange and not worth the extra fat and calories) and order extra hush puppies (delicious!) instead.
The restaurant was quite busy the Sunday evening before Memorial day but that was to be expected. The servers were friendly and attentive and very apologetic for longer than usual wait times.
This seems to be a good option for families with children as they offer a children's menu with smaller portions. There were several families with young children there when I visited.
For those looking to get away from the family crowd, there is also a bar area upstairs that overlooks the harbor - no one under 21 allowed in this area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiamarie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab T, Public Relations Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the fantastic review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Confused??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

While we enjoyed the raw oysters we had at the Crab Trap, we were confused by their other dishes. The battered fries were so odd and off-putting that it kept us from eating them, which may have been a good thing because it saved us some calories. Order the oysters and a beer, skip the rest.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab T, Public Relations Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our battered fries are definitely a unique side choice on our menu. We hope you'll visit again soon and try some of our other fresh local seafood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Trap also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to The Crab Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing