We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience , good food and service in a casual local restaurant”
Review of The Crab Trap

The Crab Trap
Price range: $7 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family-owned and operated since 1979! Please visit our website to see our full menu and more information!Casual dining in an eclectic, nautical atmosphere with friendly staff and a variety of tasty choices.Lunch AND Dinner served 7 days a week starting at 11:00am and 5:00pm. Serving fresh local seafood: blackened, broiled, grilled or fried; also chicken, steaks, and raw oysters year-round. A Kid's Menu with plenty of choices. And NOW featuring a "Smaller Catch" Menu for those looking for a lighter meal!Beer, wine, cocktails at TWO Full Bars...be sure to visit the upstairs Sunset Bar with views of the Fernandina Beach Marina while you're here!Reservations not required, but call-aheads for parties of 10 or more are greatly appreciated.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Two of us enjoyed a leisurely Sunday lunch here. We were planning to order local seafood but could not resist their special of two Maine lobster tails each for $20.00. They were fresh, well cooked and delicious!
The local atmosphere was fun and the service was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravlinShoes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab T, Public Relations Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thanks for the kind words! We're so glad that you were able to take advantage of our Sunday Lobster Tail Special. It's definitely been a hit with the locals and visitors. Come back anytime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

758 - 762 of 960 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

In a small island town, it was hard to find local restaurants offering anything besides seafood for dinner. The Crab Trap was the exception. In addition to a variety of seafood dishes (no crab cakes), they also offered chicken fingers (fried, grilled, or blackened) and steak for non-seafood lovers. The local shrimp was fresh and delicious. These, like most menu options, also comes with the option of being fried, grilled or blackened.
Skip the battered fries (strange and not worth the extra fat and calories) and order extra hush puppies (delicious!) instead.
The restaurant was quite busy the Sunday evening before Memorial day but that was to be expected. The servers were friendly and attentive and very apologetic for longer than usual wait times.
This seems to be a good option for families with children as they offer a children's menu with smaller portions. There were several families with young children there when I visited.
For those looking to get away from the family crowd, there is also a bar area upstairs that overlooks the harbor - no one under 21 allowed in this area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tiamarie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab T, Public Relations Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Wow! Thanks for the fantastic review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

While we enjoyed the raw oysters we had at the Crab Trap, we were confused by their other dishes. The battered fries were so odd and off-putting that it kept us from eating them, which may have been a good thing because it saved us some calories. Order the oysters and a beer, skip the rest.

1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab T, Public Relations Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Our battered fries are definitely a unique side choice on our menu. We hope you'll visit again soon and try some of our other fresh local seafood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was the worst experience and worst service I have ever received in my life. This restaurant was referred to us by the Captain of a chartered boat we went out fishing on today. He told us they would cook our fish for us and we could eat it there. Being we are from out of town we thought that was great. This place charged us FULL menu price for a fish dinner even though we supplied the fish $18.99 per person. The sides were awful and you had to flag your server down for drinks and it would take forever to get a refill.. We visit this area of Florida a lot and I or anyone I know will never go to this restaurant again. This place is a total disgrace to the Fernandina Beach area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bamaroll5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab T, Public Relations Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We're so sorry to hear about your experience, and assure you that we strive to give each customer outstanding service. Your meals should not have been charged full priced, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to make this right. Please call next time you're in town and speak with a manager. We value our partnerships with local charters and always appreciate when they send business our way. Again, we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just came from a $135 dinner for 4 that was horrible. They were "out of" the beer we ordered,...and mixed veggies,...and Oysters! (at 7:45 PM?)! When we asked to substitute scallops for the oysters that they didn't have, they decided that was worth an extra $4.00 up charge. Shrimp and Scallops were virtually tasteless. My sons both got Crab - once again, small and tasteless! Their baked potatoes had not been washed and spilled black dirt out onto the plate. Can't say enough about what a disappointing way to spend an evening eating horrible seafood one block from the ocean!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DMSFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab T, Public Relations Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will address everything you mentioned with our kitchen and service staff. We apologize for running out of the items you sought to order. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a much better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Trap also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Amelia Island, FL
 

Been to The Crab Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing