We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissappointed”
Review of Cafe Karibo

Cafe Karibo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“dissappointed”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to CK last nite and were not impressed . We split the shrimp and grits and the skirt steak. The shrimp and grits were not up to there usual quality the shrimp just were not that good and they usually are. The skirt steak at $ 18.99 was tough and did not have much flavor at that price ,for a skirt steak it just was not worth it. We will stick to the basics next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdogone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    290
    84
    36
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys, GA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Slow Kitchen”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Come about 1-2x/mo for several years. A recent experience changed our mind. Food took over 50min. was told kitchen problems, but the two tables next to us ordered after us, received food and finished before ours arrived. Manager , young woman, apologized but it didn't seem sincere. Food always good, kitchen always slow, but this experience was horrible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMixson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A place I go on every trip to Amelia.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I never miss going here while on Amelia. On a nice day the outdoor courtyard can't be beat. The food is consistently good as is the service. The Big Bella- a grilled portabella sandwich is awesome. I also like the grilled flatbread that changes daily.
Can't go wrong for a leisurely lunch or casual dinner in the outside courtyard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKCAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, good variety and great prices”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great menu selection something for everyone's tats buds! They use spices and flavors nicely. Food us very reasonably priced . Great outside with music some nights. Bar area great with tv's if your guy doesn't want to miss a game!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebrutscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hands down, my favorite "everyday" restaurant on the island”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were introduced to Cafe Karibo 15 years ago, and it's been our go-to place ever since. We were so happy when they installed their microbrewery and expanded because sometimes before, it was hard to get a table.

Many months of the years, the courtyard dining is the best for dinner or lunch! Our favorites are Pad Thai night (but you have to order early because they sell out), Curry Night and we loved the old Sunday brunch. Lunches are consistently very good. It's a great place to take a group for lunch because there's a good assortment of vegetarian, soup and salad options as well as nice takes on sandwiches, like the Pig and Apple Sandwich. We love their flatbread pizza specials too. They have great shrimp and grits too, and my husband once had the cioppino special, which he said was the best cioppino he had ever had.

There is always a happy vibe at Karibo. The only thing I miss is that years ago they had a psychic doing readings on Thursday nights. But the food, the service and the friendly atmosphere stay consistent year after year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilyK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Karibo also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Cafe Karibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing