We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Clos

Le Clos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Le Clos is a French restaurant which never disappoints. The food preparation is beyond reproach. Over the last decade, whether as a couple or part of a larger party, we have never had a meal we regretted ordering. We can't say that about any other restaurant on Amelia Island. And since tomorrow, is Bastille Day, Le Clos receives our l'Ordre de Merite.

If you've never had the pleasure of real French fries, the Steak-au Poivre is always cooked perfectly and the frites are worthy of a Parisien bistro. The seared and roasted Salmon with shallots and capers is my personal favorite and so good it's hard to make another menu choice. My spouse had a new item for us on the menu, the seared Pork Tenderloin, and declared it the best she had ever tasted.

In every case, the food speaks for itself and is not overwhelmed by gimmickry or the latest fad. Also, on the menu: chicken, duck, escargots, pâté, shrimp, scallops, calamari, tuna and vegetable linguini. The overall menu is limited compared to other restaurants but every choice is a winner. The house salad is thing of beauty because the greens are not chilled and it appears that every leaf was hand-rubbed, so the taste is perfect with no excess dressing.

There is a nice wine list by the bottle or the glass with both value and surprise. We had a thoroughly pleasant Corbières from Languedoc-Roussillon, a region which was totally unremarkable in wine production 25 years ago and but now has its own appelation and some of France's best wine values.

Le Clos interior is nicely decorated but the restaurant itself is small. A reservation is a must. Also, when full or with large parties, it can be noisy. Le Clos is not cheap. In fact, it is somewhat expensive, but overall it is an excellent value for the price when the quality of the food and its consistently excellent preparation are taken in to account. Bon appetit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastwind99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    144
    35
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

LeClos is one of our favorites in Fernandina! The staff is warm and friendly and the food is always excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect celebration dinner”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

As a family we made a reservation for five to celebrate our daughter's recent success. We have only dined at Le clos a few times but it has never disappointed! Every dish I have ever ordered has been exquisite and in a class all of its own, my personal favorite is the shrimp dish and I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. The beautiful cottage style restaurant has a atmosphere like no other, it is cozy and charming. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive, it is truly like dining with friends. We will definitely be back and will recommend Le clos to anyone looking for a truly extraordinary dining experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn5590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Le Clos in no longer our favorite restaurant.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Every year the highlight of our Amelia Island vacations has been dinner at Le Clos. We usually eat there at least twice during our vacation. Many of our friends have eaten at Le Clos on our recommendation. But last Friday night, we noticed a definite change in the attitude of the normally friendly and gracious staff. We got there about 5:25 (they open at 5:30) and we were met with cold unfriendliness and definitely made to feel unwelcome. We were informed that although they had an empty table at the moment (there wasn't a single customer in the restaurant!) the table was reserved and another party was going to be seated at "our table" at 6:45. The staff person was very condescending while she schooled us on the importance of timing "table turns" in a restaurant such as Le Clos, rolled her eyes and said it was "up to us" if we wanted to "chance it." She also made it a point to tell us that it was 5:28 (they open at 5:30) to let us know how horribly inconvenient it was for her to seat us. She also announced to our 6 year old (who is more well-behaved and has better manners than most adults) that "we DON'T have a children's menu." We decided to stay, but immediately regretted the decision. After hearing the specials, we told the inconvenienced and unhappy server what we wanted to order (remember, we were pressed for time because "our table" would be taken at 6:45!), but she didn't take our order! She just walked away and came back a while later. We ate a hurried meal (we were finished by 6:15) and the entire time we were eating, only ONE other party was seated in the entire restaurant. We will never return, nor will we recommend Le Clos to anyone again. The food is good, but it does not make up for a horrible dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingcust0mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Girls weekend.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our favorite restaurant of the 4 we visited during our weekend getaway. The food and service were first class.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clos also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Le Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing