We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience”
Review of Le Clos

Le Clos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was a very busy Friday night with a brief wait at the door after we gave the hostess our name. We were offered a glass of wine while we waited which we declined. We were seated at a table for two by a window, very charming. Liba greeted us with a smile and water quickly followed by another lady, Barbara, who was our server.

And our night began with amazing service and delicious food.We had the meatloaf special as well as the grouper and a great bottle of wine, a blend from St. Emillion.

The whole experience was top-notch. These people really care about their guests.

Just moved to the Island and we will be back and often!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    146
    39
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Stands above the Rest”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife an I dined here last night in a last minute decision and are simply kicking ourselves for not chosing Le Clos over the many other island restaurants we've selected of late. For fine dining in a comfortable, relaxed setting, there isn't anything that can touch Le Clos. Julie greeted us as if we were neighbors coming into her home and we immediately warmed to the setting, which really makes one feel as if he or she is entering a bistro in the south of France. The wine choices were superb (we chose Merlot and a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc) and the $8.50/$9.00 prices very fair for the pouring. We shared a small ramekin of Vichychoise ($8.00), which we devoured with warm slices of a very fresh baguette. For entrees, we were tempted by Julie's description of a lamb shank special (I will return for it!), braised, she said, for 8 hours. Instead, my wife ordered a grouper special ($30) and I had one of Le Clos' favorites, Seared Scallops ($25). Fabulous on both accounts. No doubt deserts are also wonderful, but that, too, awaits another visit. We loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank aowats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the treasures of Fernandina Beach”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I have vacationed at Amelia Island several times.......the highlight is our dinner at Le Clos! The service is wonderful......the food always prepared excellently and fresh. The restaurant is so attractive...such charm. If you go to Amelia Island you must dine at Le Clos.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank maria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant. Stopped in for dessert and coffee. Both were excellent and the waitress was top notch. Definitely will be back in the future for the full meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aerojar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Last, but certainly not least.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

It was the fourth and last night of our recent visit to Amelia Island and Fernandina Beach. We had managed to either have lunch or dinner at most of the top rated restaurants and were saving Le Clos for last as we thought it would be special. We were not disappointed.
In addition to the menu items, Manager Judy rhymed off a number of specials including both a meat loaf and a fish cake which were part of the chef's choice special which came with an appetizer and a dessert for a very reasonable price. I opted for the fish cake along with vichyssoise and a creme brule for dessert and all were delicious. My wife also had the vichyssoise but went a different route and had the scallops from the regular menu. She said they were the best she has ever had. All of this was washed down with a very nice New Zealand sauvignon blanc for a lovely meal indeed.
In another review here, someone mentioned that it was loud and it was. We shared a room with another couple and a group of ten men. Need I say more? The decibel level is the only reason this was not a five star rating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank memphismickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clos also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Le Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing