We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area which is open generally Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 28 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is the second time we have been to this restaurant. Unfortunately, it was not a good experience. From the time we were seated, ordered a bottle of wine & appetizer, which was brought out IMMEDIATELY, consumed, then our main course it took all of 40 minutes! My husband & I were stunned. The waiter was cordial, but to state that we were rushed was an understatement. The food was average. Never again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,112
    292
    85
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So fresh and yummy!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This restaurant is a do not miss!! Everything was so fresh and wonderful!! No wonder it's one of Amelia"s top picks!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neenee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing paella”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went here for my husbands birthday in June. We went after having several local recommendations and reading TripAdvisor reviews. We went with the recommendations of our waiter and got the calamari and the escargot and them paella for our main course. It was amazing! and to much food! we had left over paella for lunch the next day. Everything was we perfect for celebrating my husbands birthday! One of the best restaurants on the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wmmuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best Paella ever”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

A friend recommended this restaurant and we were so happy we tried it. My husband and I shared an order of the seafood paella and we fought over the last bites of everything. Loaded with shrimp, scallops, clams, mussels and fresh caught shrimp, and delicately seasoned with saffron, this was a standout dinner on our recent trip.
Would definitely go back. Reservations are recommended. Service was wonderful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank boogieboybaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really really good”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Only been there once while on a short vacation...it was recommended by the great B&B where we stayed. Worth the trip...and the tapas were fresh and creative and oh-so-delicious! Small restaurant...there were tables in their garden but was too hot that evening to sit outdoors. Service quite good and the beer was cold! Go there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing