We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Espana Restaurant & Tapas

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area which is open generally Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 28 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
New Smyrna Beach
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I were spending our anniversary in Fernandina Beach and chose this restaurant based on prior reviews. Cory was our server and was very attentive and helpful with menu choices. We started with escargot tapas followed by salads. We shared a Paella with shrimp and chicken which was more than adequate. We skipped dessert in order to finish our pitcher of white sangria.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NSB-Native-Son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,045
    281
    85
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unexpected find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

On the island for a little beach time, our first visit to Amelia Island. What a restaurant find! Starting with an excellent homemade sangria set the stage. We had two small plates, Shrimp Mozambique and a seared calamari steak. The shrimp dish was with just the right amount of spice taking most of the breadbasket to finish off the sauce. The calamari steak was simply prepared, fresh and delicious.
We had read about the paella and saw several orders come out of the kitchen. We ordered a serving for one and it ended up being almost for two people to finish. It was loaded with fresh seafood and it was greatness. I want some now as I write this review. Try this place out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larryf310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“cozy, great tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The food was wonderful. The service was very good. A little pricey but worth it. We needed a reservation. There is an outdoor patio but it was a little too warm and humid so we sat inside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank krauser848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“...Scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this restaurant! We had made a reservation for 7:30PM but ended up arriving around 6:50PM. The hostess was happy to seat us early which was a pleasant surprise. We started the night off with a half pitcher of white sangria and the Gambas Mozambique. After we finished the shrimp the waiter offered to bring more bread over to the table to finish the broth, which was very thoughtful! We did not have to wait long for our main dishes, I ordered the Pargo con Espinaca (Snapper with Spinach) and my boyfriend ordered the Paella Marinera (Seafood Paella) both were AMAZING!!! The portion sizes were huge so you will not have to worry about walking out hungry.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We love Spanish Tapas! We were lucky enough to visit Spain last year and the food was the most enjoyable of several European stops on our trip. This place brought back great memories as we had hoped. Will definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing