We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas in an unexpected location”

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area which is open generally Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 28 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tapas in an unexpected location”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Had to come at 6:00pm since we made last minute reservations but a good range of interesting plates (tapas) so we never ordered a main course. Great service, vibrant atmosphere, and decent wine list (although there were some strangely expensive selections outside of the Spanish genre).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    303
    87
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feenandina beach
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We have never ever had anything here that we didn't LOVE!!!
The Snapper special can't be beat, although the fisherman stew was pretty darn good! Red sangria was also wonderful!! A must have Tapa is the Calamari steak - yummie!

Helpful?
Thank JackieDarby17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Oh, what a meal!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We took an afternoon on the island and stopped in a bar on the water and before leaving asked the waitress for a dinner suggestion and she said Espana and advised us to have reservations. We took her advice and our table was waiting when we arrived. They have a nice wine and beer selection and we decided on the evenings shrimp appetizer to begin our meal, we were not disappointed. Additionally, the Paella and fish dishes were are good as others have said, only wish we had saved room for dessert. Must say the decor, the employees, and of course the meal was rather close to perfect.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Hands down, best food on the island. Paella and Fisherman's stew are a must have! We went to this restaurant 10 years ago and they are still serving deliciously fresh food!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had on Amelia Island”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a great meal at Espana. They have several appealing options on the menu, including smaller plates and larger entrees. We ordered the escargot, anchovy, and salad appetizers. They were all very good, but the escargot (in a tomato rather than butter sauce) was our favorite of the three. For the main course, we took a chance on the Portuguese Fisherman's Stew. It's a full meal designed to serve at least two (and maybe three) adults. Even though ordering this meant forgoing some other intriguing options, we recommend it -- the stew was excellent. The tomato-based broth was tasty and slightly spicy, and the pot held generous portions of seafood, including scallops, clams, mussels, octopus, and fish. To top it all off, we had flan for dessert; a very good end to the meal. The sangria was also very good. The waiter was knowledgeable (he steered us toward the stew) and attentive. Overall, one of the best meals we had on Amelia Island. And not too expensive -- maybe $75 including food, drinks, and tip. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eclecticfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing