We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Tapas”

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area which is open generally Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 28 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was truly an outstanding dining experience. The restaurant is located in downtown Fernandina, in an old house with several dining rooms. As the name implies, it focuses on Spanish food, and we had mostly tapas. We spent a month in Spain, and Espana ranks at or near the top of any tapas place we've ever visited. There is certainly good reason for its #1 rating in Fernandina. Everything we had, including dessert, was creative and well prepared. The tapas dishes were served in a timely manner, and service was very good (although our server was not that personable). Prices are reasonable give the quality. Overall, top notch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, General Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We certainly do appreciate your feedback and the kind words. Chef Roberto has over 25 years in the industry and has his strong Portuguese roots to inspire our nightly specials and shape the menu. He endeavors to make every meal a memorable one. Many thanx for taking the time to let us know about your evening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,139 - 1,143 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our dinner at Espana was a delightful evening. The sea bass special was outstanding, topped with two large scallops and a flavorful tomato wine sauce with hearts of palm that complimented the fish beautifully. Saffron rice was pleasantly spiced, and julienned vegetables (leeks, eggplant, zucchini, and garlic) sauted with a wonderful blend of favors and spices were remarkable, "the likes of which you just will not find in other restaurants" -- this from a person who normally doesn't even like these particular vegetables! The all-meat Paella Rustica entree included chicken, pork, chorizo, onions sweet peppers, and saffron rice served in a sizzling skillet and topped with diced fresh tomatoes, English peas and cilantro -- a delicious blend in a flavorful sauce which was complemented by Espana's homemade sangria. A small but tasty caramel flan completed the meal nicely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Owner at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your complimentary review!

I believe one of the best compliments I have received was from an 11- year old that said to me "everything is so good here you even make yucky stuff taste delicious!! " The parent asked me for the vegetable medley recipe because her son asked for SECONDS! True Story.

We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your evening and we hope to see you again next time you are in Fernandina! *** Gracias ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Espana. The snapper with spinach was awesome. The sangria perfect. Service attentive. Loved it!

Thank REH0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Owner at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Well thank you so much for telling us about your evening! We've been at it for 10 years this coming August and to be honest are always humbled by these complimentary reviews.

We appreciate it! *** Gracias ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This small cozy spot seats only 50 or so inside but is a gem for foodies and the garden looked lovely but it was quite chilly for outside dining.
It has a very nice wine selection and great choices of small plates hot and cold
The homemade bread was delicious as was the grouper. Fresh fresh fresh! But it is the choice of 3 paella dishes that make this spot special and be sure to try their housemade hot sauce to kick up the paella. The chef spent quite a bit of time talking with us which is always a nice touch

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bobcat1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Front Office Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your kinds words. We certainly strive everyday to get the best possible ingredients to make your meal enjoyable! Chef Roberto has been making paellas for over 25 years!

We are so pleased you had a great experience and hope to see you again soon!

*** Gracias ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My family and friends planned a weekend in Amelia Island for my 50th birthday. Rather than eat at one of the on-site restaurants within the plantation, we hired a shuttle to transport our large group to this Fernandina Beach eatery. The restaurant helped us plan the event and was very accommodating. They set up a large table in the outdoor a garden. It was lovely and very private for our lively and loud group! It was chillier than expected but they set up heaters and no one was a bit cold. As expected from previous reviews the food was magnificent!!!! The shrimp Mozambique and Spicy shrimp were amazing! The Sangria salad was different and delicious! Others said the sausage and onions were tasty - I did not try it as I only eat seafood. We decided to keep it simple and order all three varieties of the paella. The marinera (seafood) was amazing! Filled with so many fresh clams, mussels, shrimp, calamari, scallops and fish. The rice was perfectly seasoned. The Valencia (chicken and seafood) and Rustica (all meat) received lots of oohs and aahs from the group. They helped us choose the perfect wines to compliment the food (also not ridiculously marked up). The flan was scrumptious! After dinner while the adults continued to partake in even more wine, the kids meandered around the garden which kept them busy. Some in the group enjoyed a cigar and walked around the garden. It was a perfect evening and fabulous fiftieth birthday dinner with friends and family!!!! There is a reason this place is rated #1.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kimberlee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, General Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Well every birthday should be special, but the big 5-0 deserves extra attention! No doubt your family loves you to pieces and wanted to make it extra special :)

We are so pleased you and your guests enjoyed the setting, the meal, service and wine. We are very fortunate to have such a diligent staff and amazing team to make your evening a memorable one. Thank you so much for allowing us to host your special occasion.

**Gracias**

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing