We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always consistent..”

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area which is open generally Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 28 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“always consistent..”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

great seafood dishes with a different slant.. didn't have the fish stew but some in our party did & raved about it..considered taking the leftover sauce from the stew home..they have a way with grouper & snapper that isn't run of the mill...Justin is a very attentive server..love to sit on the patio..heaters work well when it's chilly..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bogey718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Front Office Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us a "shout out." Chef Roberto endeavors to get the freshest and best of best on a daily basis. He visits multiple fisheries and purchases the whole fish and we filet in-house, never frozen. We believe the best ingredients make for the best experience!

I will pass along the good word to Justin as well. It does mean a lot to the servers to be recognized and remembered.

*** Many Thanx ***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    303
    87
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Wine and Service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Everything was outstanding starting with appetizers , tapas and entrees and add the wine from an extensive list to the great service of the staff. Ola!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Front Office Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to jot down a few comments about eating at España. We truly appreciate it and value your input. Gracias!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Authentic flavors”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

First took notice of Espana based on the Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. My husband was born and raised in Portugal, so he is a reliable source. We met and spoke with the Brazil-born chef, who could not have been nicer. All the tapas we had were outstanding. 2 shrimp dishes, seviche and pork tenderloin. We had to order extra bread to sop up the sauce. We may even return for a 2nd time before we return home.
Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nutmegger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Owner at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello! Thanx so much for the kind words. My husband, Roberto, certainly cannot be labeled shy :)

We have traveled to Spain and Portugal to get inspiration, as well as rely on his family meals and recipes to make our menu comforting and authentic.

We value your patronage and hope to see you again !

Obrigada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

very good food and excellent service. we didn't have a reservation and despite that on weekend night we got seated by the chef himself, very kind! we were party of four and all very pleased with the food. the shrimps I ordered were delicious as well as my husband's catch of the day. nice atmosphere. recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LolaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Front Office Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. We are happy you enjoyed the evening, the service and the dishes you chose!

It is a very professional and talented team that we are fortunate to employ; we couldn't do it without them! We sincerely appreciate your comments and hope to see you again!

*** Gracias ***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great change of pace”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Living in rural central Georgia doesn't offer many opportunities to eat Tapas/Spanish food. We made a reservation directly from Tripadvisor using OpenDiner. It wasn't very crowded when we arrived, but filled up quickly. The paella was very good. We also enjoyed the portobello tapas and an eggplant special - both were very good. You can't see it from the street, but there is a nice outdoor dining area in the back. The service was good and the chef even came out to talk with us. Overall a very good dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1985dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are so glad you gave us a try! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your evening out; we truly appreciate your comments and look forward to serving you again soon :)

*** Gracias ***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing