We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service”

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area which is open generally Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 28 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a reservation, they sat us right down and brought bread with a delicious dipping oil right away. Had a great half pitcher of sangria. But the best was the food--the highlights were: (1) the tortilla (like a frittata? omelet with potatoes and onions etc, served steaming hot); (2) the fresh anchovies on crucnh toast (not like those salty ones we all know, more like delicate sardines); and the amazing amazing shrimp with garlic, parlsey and a spicy pepper like I have never had. I have traveled to many US locales and several international, possiby best shrimp I have ever had. Think like a scampi but also with a subtle delicious spiciness. Great service all around. My only disappointment was the dining room...kind of boring. But if it were warmer, outside patio looked amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed our menu, the service and your evening.

Chef Roberto is focused on delivering the best possible ingredients with that special Mediterranean flavor of Spain and Portugal. Many of the recipes including the Gambas Mozambique that you ordered are prized recipes from family and friends.

We hope to see you again .......... we will jazz up the dining room for you :)

*** Gracias ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,161 - 1,165 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

There is no doubt, Espana deserves its rating on TA. We made our first visit to the restaurant a few nights ago during Restaurant Week and had a wonderful experience. After lengthy deliberations, we decided to go with the special restaurant week menu options (4 courses for $29/person!) although there were many other temptations. We were so impressed. Often, restaurants really skimp on variety and portion size during restaurant week, but not so with Espana. The offerings were generous and wide-ranging. Our server was so professional, helpful and patient. Sadly, we have to leave beautiful Amelia Island next week but we're going to visit Espana again before we depart.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CarolinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed Restaurant Week. It really has become an anticipated event! We are so pleased you enjoyed the selections, the service and your evening!

We are just entering our 10th year and are humbled by the positive comments. Please know the owners and staff value your patronage. GRACIAS!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We decided to visit Espana during restaurant week as we work our way thru the numerous restaurants in Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island. We were not disappointed. We shared the salad and soup for starters; soup was outstanding. We shared our lamb meatballs and salmon, both very good. Our entrees, pork tenderloin and tuna on bed of varied veggies, was very good. both were cooked just right with inviting presentation. We finished the meal with berries and tarramisu. Service was very good, always attentive during a busy night. Temperatures prevented us from sitting outside on their patio, but looked very inviting. Definitely on our list to revisit often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dennis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, General Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you, sir, for the comments and complimentary review. We certainly appreciate your taking the time to let us know how we're doing. Restaurant Week is a much anticipated event and has become a destination vacation for so many of our customers. Chef Roberto is thrilled to create an original and creative menu for this 10-day experience.

We are pleased you enjoyed it! Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

First off, always make reservations, this place is very popular regardless of what day of the week!
Service is consistently outstanding (my 3rd time!). The atmosphere is very inviting and if the weather cooperates dining in the courtyard is an option. The menu is authentic and offers options depending on how hungry you are. (Tapas and a salad is an option) you can't go wrong while in the area, just plan ahead!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NcJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for letting us know how we're doing! Tripadvisor, when used correctly, is an invaluable means where we can stay connected and focused on what works, if we missed our mark, and on performance. We sincerely appreciate your comments and please know we really listen to our customers and appreciate their input.

** Thanx Again **

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Another wonderful dining experience at Espana. Tapas were superb. Our entrees of sea bass and grouper were out of this world. Service is timely and attentive but not intrusive. This was our second trip and we're very happy we made the trip over from St Marys, Ga. Best dining experience in Fernandina Beach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you, sir, for the compliment! We strive to make every dining experience a memorable one. We are very pleased you enjoyed your evening and were prompted to tell us about it. We truly appreciate your patronage.

*** Gracias ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing